Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   First-Time Maya 6.5 User Needs UV/Texture Help (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=18024)

Nusirilo 27-08-2005 11:19 PM

First-Time Maya 6.5 User Needs UV/Texture Help

Well, I read the "How to ask questions the smart way" thread, and feel that I am ready to ask my question to you experienced Maya users. First let me say that I only started using Maya yesterday, so I am EXTREMELY new to 3D graphics and such. I watched the free tutorial video from this website dealing with creating textures in Photoshop through the use of UVs, and that piqued my interest. I want to attempt to create a texture for the temple I created in the Maya 6.5 tutorial, but I don't really know how to get all of the UVs for this temple into one set or how to extract the UVs to Photoshop. I scoured the help section of Maya, but couldn't really find what I was looking for. I also searched for tutorials dealing with this type of thing, but with no luck. If any of you could assist me in this matter I would be extremely grateful :bow: .

I just want to say that so far this has been an excellent resource in learning a little about Maya and I hope to hang around here as I gain more experience and learn more about the program through both gained experience and help from ya'll.

*pants after writing a very long first post*

t1ck135 28-08-2005 07:05 AM

I needed to learn more about playing with UV's and watched mr mkinleys UV video tutorial at:
http://www.mtmckinley.net/

Go to tutorials, modelling, polygon texturing, download and have a watch.

Basic concept which I didnt realise was that each time say, you do a planar map, it doesnt make copies of the uvs in the uv editor, it uses the same ones. Simple fact but till I realised I was confused...
Good luck :)

Nusirilo 28-08-2005 12:09 PM