Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Programming (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=32)
-   -   some python function is not working in maya? (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=62248)

yiingrou 21-07-2020 05:37 AM

some python function is not working in maya?
 
hi, i am new to python ... recently i had watched some tutorial about python. and i try it, it work in IDLE but when i apply in MAYA it doesn't work... am i doing wrong?

the sample given in tutorial :
s = [1, 2, 3, 4, 5]
a, *b, c = s
>>a
1
..b
2, 3, 4
>>c
5


and here what i tried in maya2018:
import maya.cmds as cmds
selObj = cmds.ls(sl=1) #(i did select few item in maya)
a,*b = selObj
print (a)

and i get # Error: invalid syntax #

thanks in advance for spending time:)

Jackkd88 03-09-2020 10:02 AM

Asterisk (*) unpacking is introduced in python 3 , Maya still uses python 2 so this method won't work
Instead you can use this code:
import maya.cmds as cmds
selObj = cmds.ls(sl=1)
a,b = selObj[0],selObj[1:]
print a
print b


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:18 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Simply Maya 2018