Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Technical Issues (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   open 2009 file in 2008 (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=31949)

leonlabyk 22-02-2009 07:15 PM

open 2009 file in 2008
 
Is there a way I can open a maya 2009 file in 2008. If anyone could let me know it would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Leon Labyk

LauriePriest 22-02-2009 10:41 PM

file > open with the option box and tick the ignore version option box. This will usually be fine as long as you dont use any version specific features. This option is avalable from maya version 8.5 + if your using an older version than that you have to save as a maya ascii file and copy over the cut ID and maya verision information from a ascii file of the version your importing to into your file.

arvsol 19-08-2009 08:35 AM

Just do this (with your versions):

To open a Maya file created in a newer version (ex: Maya 2008 file need to open in 8.5)
1. Save the file as a .ma file from the newer version of maya

2. Open the file in a text editor

//Maya ASCII 2008 scene
//Name: myFileName.ma
//Last modified: Thu, Feb 26, 2009 11:06:07 AM
//Codeset: UTF-8
requires maya "2008";
currentUnit -l centimeter -a degree -t film;
fileInfo "application" "maya";
fileInfo "product" "Maya Complete 2008";
fileInfo "version" "2008";
fileInfo "cutIdentifier" "200708030025-704171";
fileInfo "osv" "Mac OS X 10.5.6";

3. Replace the version info highlighted above with the older version info (if you don't know what it should look like, save a file as .ma from your older version of maya and open it in a text editor)

//Maya ASCII 8.5 scene
//Name: 2008-12-21_Ig2_run04-00-1315_xyzpts-setupscene.csv.ma
//Last modified: Thu, Feb 26, 2009 11:06:07 AM
//Codeset: UTF-8
requires maya "8.5";
currentUnit -l centimeter -a degree -t film;
fileInfo "application" "maya";
fileInfo "product" "Maya Unlimited 8.5";
fileInfo "version" "8.5";
fileInfo "cutIdentifier" "200708030025-704171";
fileInfo "osv" "Mac OS X 10.5.6";

Note: If the file utilizes new features associated with the newer version, it will not work in the older version

i did the same yesterday...

huntaer 09-05-2010 02:24 AM

I've discovered a simpler way for exporting models if you're fine with resetting the file in the older version (I haven't tried importing the file with 2009 features this way yet). You should download the expansion where you get extra export features. Download this (might already be installed if you have maya 2008/09/10 unlimited, not sure about standard), and turn it on in the plug-in manager. You should be able to export whatever model(s) you're working on in any version into an older/newer version.

I hope this works out for anyone who's still asking the same question.

~Hunt

NextDesign 18-08-2011 12:49 AM

Since 2011 I believe, you can pull in a .ma file without having to edit the file's header. It will give you a warning, but it will import it as best as it can.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:04 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Simply Maya 2018