Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   Unreal tournament Level design? (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=31082)

silverspawn 12-10-2008 03:20 AM

Unreal tournament Level design?

Hey,

I was just wondering If anyone here as had any experience will this?

Part of one of my uni projects is to design a level for this game,I was just wondering if anyone could give me any advice on this as I have no experience at all on the game or level design.

Thanks.

Jason

Chirone 12-10-2008 02:21 PM

using the unreal engine?

sorry, we had to use the source engine and that is a royal pain in the ass.

i hope the unreal engine has good documentation and not some bs wiki and lame forums where everyone gets angry at you for asking a question and point you to a webpage that doesn't even answer your question or one that you've seen before...

12-10-2008 02:57 PM

nice rant chirone :p

try googlin "unreal tounament editing forum" you might find something

Chirone 12-10-2008 03:00 PM

i had to hold back a lot....

in fact i might post screen shots of it sometime later....

12-10-2008 03:50 PM

is it seriously that bad?

Chirone 12-10-2008 04:38 PM

not wanting to hijack poor silver's thread but when you're trying to do what we had to do, it really was bad

Source isn't a nice game engine to work with and you get no help from the valve developers either because they dont make any money out of it.

and all existing tutorials and documentation just tell you how to put things in that were from the game.

no resource shows you how to make your own stuff.

12-10-2008 04:50 PM

that sounds pretty shitty...

oh, you can have your thread back now silver :p

silverspawn 12-10-2008 04:57 PM

Thanks guy.

Its pretty nerve rackin, been giving a task like this in my second week of uni. I am just managing to find my way around maya.