Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Programming (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=32)
-   -   creating a particle grid on plane or otherway round. (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=29938)

bendingiscool 19-05-2008 07:45 PM

creating a particle grid on plane or otherway round.
 
Hey guys,

Was wondering how would I go about either setting a particle grid to be made on the position of a plane or have a plane be created at a particle grids postion?

I am guessing it goes along the basis of finding the particle grid's position at setting it up that way but am pretty stuck where to go from there. I can get a particle ID's postion by using the 'getParticleAttr' command and specifying the first particle, but am not sure where to go from here.

Many thanks in advance,
Chris

gster123 19-05-2008 07:58 PM

If you've got the particles position in space where you want the plane to be then stick that into a attribute and use it to be the position of the plane (using Xform or move)

bendingiscool 19-05-2008 09:25 PM

Thanks for the speedy reply gster! However I am still fairly new to mel so am not sure how I would go about doing that and in which order, please enlighten lol.

Chris

gster123 19-05-2008 11:33 PM

If you use the getParticleAttr so that it contains the data that you want, just have that as the position of the plane, as I aint got maya open it might be some thing like this.

move -a `what you want to do here so its XYZ positions` objectname ;

Theres a probably a more elagant solution to it...


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Simply Maya 2018