Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   Do you get payed for your Maya work? (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=34033)

kbrown 29-04-2010 11:14 AM

Do you get payed for your Maya work?

So do you get payed for your Maya work?

tweetytunes 29-04-2010 12:04 PM

I would love too but still having no luck finding anyone to offer me any work.

bullet1968 29-04-2010 02:19 PM

bah Im not good enough and probably never will be......................still Im a Surveyor, I build roads/pipes/estates etc etc etc so I guess its still modelling, just in real things, not as much fun though.

yeh tweet I hear yah! be nice

tweetytunes 29-04-2010 02:50 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by bullet1968
yeh tweet I hear yah! be nice
Only took 5 years of uni and 3 years of looking so far - but who knows maybe one day

Mayaniac 29-04-2010 03:08 PM

I've been paid in the past with some small freelance projects. But I'm not employed with any studio doing it (unfortunately).

But I keep working at it... then when I'm at a competitive level, I'll start working on a portfolio and see if I can squeeze my into the industry.

Tweety: You went to school for 5 years to learn CG?

bullet1968 29-04-2010 03:13 PM

jeez tweety, I aint been to no skool. I learnt the hard way, through life but I reckon on a par with the guys that went to school, Im probably better in most ways because I learnt from the ground up, layed the pipes etc etc and dont rely on technology as much. Bloody hell mate 8 years all up!!!!! you should be making your own movies!!!!

All I can say is keep at it guys, I will never be that good and Im too old now, so I will be a Surveyor til Im dead.

honestdom 29-04-2010 03:14 PM

i only recently started working in 3D.