Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Lighting & Rendering (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Render Problem with my model - HELP! (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=18996)

BMS 08-11-2005 10:54 PM

Render Problem with my model - HELP!

1 Attachment(s)
Hi Guys,

I've made a transparent skin for my balsa wood fin, but the skin isn't rendering properly.

http://forums.simplymaya.com/attachm...&postid=174139
The main wing is rendering properly, but the tail isn't. Any Idea what could be the cause?

Thanks
Paul

THX1138 09-11-2005 02:51 AM

Just curious, what are your Mental Ray settings? It could be not enough anti-aliasing sampling, or the final gather min and max radius settings need adjusting. I'm no expert in MR, but I would check those 2 areas.

BMS 09-11-2005 03:08 AM

I've played with all that but I'm still not sure what's going on. The main wing renders OK.

I've attached the file if that helps.

Maya 6.0 File

I'm wondering if it could be something to do with the way I constructed the tail.

Thanks

THX1138 09-11-2005 09:12 AM

1 Attachment(s)
I believe your problem is in the modeling itself. You had hidden geometry showing up in the MR render. Try a different modeling method, and avoid doing what you did in this pic I have attached.

Please don't take this the wrong way, just trying to help out.

BMS 09-11-2005 10:15 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally posted by THX1138
Please don't take this the wrong way, just trying to help out.
No way I could take it the wrong way. Thank you for your help. I constructed the tail section in a strange way. It achieved the desired look, but obviously MR doesn't like what I did.

Below is the way I constructed it.

Thanks Again :beer:

BMS 09-11-2005 10:22 AM