Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   Weird targa alpha thing... (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=32480)

groovdafied 23-05-2009 04:36 AM

Weird targa alpha thing...

I'm kinda new with using textures using an alpha map. And I'm modeling in maya for a game and i'm trying to put together this house and I made a roof texture with an alpha map and the front of the house with the same thing. But while modeling the object, this happens to me (see this pic) , but it looks fine in rendering.

I don't want this to happen when I get this object ready to use in the 3D game, I didn't reverse the normals or anything, I just made two flat planes for the roof and a flat plane for the front of the house, and the textures will float ontop of the roof texture, but if i move the house texture towards the center, roof texture will appear normally. This will happen as well if I create a flat triangle, extrude it, apply the texture, the house texture will still appear on top.

Is this going to display normally and it's just some video card memory limitation???

Please help.:hug:

mastone 23-05-2009 09:34 AM

What is your videocard and which driver do you use, does it change when you set the quality to high in the viewport and in the attr of the shadingnode

groovdafied 23-05-2009 06:53 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by mastone
What is your videocard and which driver do you use, does it change when you set the quality to high in the viewport and in the attr of the shadingnode
Well I'm using a nvidia 9400GT with drivers I've downloaded from nvidia's website. I haven't tried the quality settings with the viewports, but will reply back as soon as I try it out.

mastone 23-05-2009 08:00 PM

" Well I'm using a nvidia 9400GT with drivers I've downloaded from nvidia's website."