Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   SimplyMaya Tutorials (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=50)
-   -   Help! - Character Rigging & Walk Cycle in Maya (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=37197)

cgisoul 02-02-2012 01:57 PM

Help / Suggestion - Character Rigging & Walk Cycle in Maya

Hello there,

I'm trying to learn Rigging / Animation and tried the Surfing with the Alien Vol.3. However, after watching the first few videos, I am just not in that level yet since the training was made for Intermediate users and I'm a complete newbie in this ;)

I'm glad to find the Character Rigging & Walk Cycle in Maya training here that is aimed for complete beginners. Just one problem though, the video training starts with a character free from riggs / bones / joints, etc, and when I opened the file that came with the training, the mesh is all rigged and has no materials applied as you can see in the picture below.

http://i41.tinypic.com/2r6gw8j.jpg

In the blind side, I deleted "all" the joints as I am aware of and selected all Translate / Rotate / Scale in the Layer Editor and unlock the gray pivot. It took me sometime to figure that one out.

Just a suggestion, could Simplymaya provide a clean mesh with textures as shown in the videos of this training? So whoever download this tutorial doesn't find the same problem I had.

Thank you :) Appreciated for any help guys / girls.

Jay 02-02-2012 04:57 PM

Dude we should be able to sort that once David is back. He is currently AOM.....but I will let him know.

Yeah intermediate on Volume 3 not beginner

Jay

cgisoul 03-02-2012 03:23 AM

Hey Jay,

Thanks mate.