Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Materials & Textures (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   Shaders (sampler) (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=16264)

lukedukeofpuke 09-04-2005 06:00 PM

Shaders (sampler)

I am trying to creat a fake SSS effect and have been told that if I use the sampler node combinde with a ramp I can get the effect I am looking for. My problem is I do not know how to use the sampler node. I am actually pretty new to shaders all together and been having some problems finding anything to explain the basic consepts. So if you know how to use the sampler or just know of some where that I can learn more about shader let me know. thanks!

Pony 09-04-2005 07:05 PM

Sounds like there talking about a velvet shader there. Get on and disect it to find out how to use the sampler info node. is the best way.

how you put it togather might also depend on what you plan on useing when rendering. Do you know if you plan on useing the mayasoftware render on it ? or MentalRay with like FG on it ?

Let me know and we'll see what we can cook up.

lukedukeofpuke 10-04-2005 11:00 PM

Do you know where I can find a velvet shader to disect?
I am going to use mayasoftware to render.
Another thing that I am trying is to use a Anisotropic node instead of a phong or a blin for my base shaders in my shader, I am not sure how it will work but I will let you know.

Pony 11-04-2005 09:16 AM

You can find one on Highend3d.com in maya shaders section.

in the morning I'll see what I can cook up also as I'll probably need some velvet afeect before the challange is over anyway.

lukedukeofpuke 11-04-2005 05:31 PM

1 Attachment(s)