Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Modeling (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Creating 3d text after a font? adding FX ? any one able to help ? (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=23694)

DjSneeze 30-10-2006 02:23 PM

Creating 3d text after a font? adding FX ? any one able to help ?

Hey guys ...
I just had this crazy idea where I'd like to make some light come out of some font ...
A friend of mine did smth like that once in MAX ... the light was just passing in the back of the font and the font was hollow acting like a window, letting the light pass through it ... (it's called volumetric light right ?)

I'd love some ideas on the light effect and how to make it of course ...what I should research 1st and etc ...
I'm kind of new to maya and all that I do in maya is model ... don't use dynamics or animation ... and I'd really like to give it a shot ...

SO if U have any ideas or any starting points or have a feeling u might help please give it a shot ! thanks !

dockode 30-10-2006 07:33 PM

Well the text part is easy if you have adobe photoshop. Export the text paths as adobe illustrator files and import those into maya. Then extrude the curves it creates to make your text.

DjSneeze 30-10-2006 09:09 PM

grrrr can't figure how to do it ?

I fire up photoshop, I type smth, then save path to ilustrator (.ai) import in maya but nothing happens ! why ? what am I doing wrong ?

tried both text tool and mask text tool !

thanks thouh for trying to help ! any further help will pe greatly apreciated

dockode 30-10-2006 11:35 PM

Here I made a little instructional video for ya on you tube. Feel free to share it.

Adobe Illustrator to Maya