Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   Kurts dog gone mad lol (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=20502)

mmoore5553 06-03-2006 03:36 AM

Kurts dog gone mad lol

hey all,

just wanted to say i been on thread for awhile admiring everyones work and decided I should start mine. I am have not posted in WIP . I am working on Kurts famous dog. I am new to this and learning. I have run into a problem. i got the head and mouth done. But I cant shape it correctly. When i go to front view and look at vertixs . I shape one side and other doesnt shape. i watched video over and over . i dont see how he gets both sides done at same time . I know it has to be something simple but i am missing it ..Any help would be greatly appreciated. I can post pic but not sure how to show it ...

matthew

Falott 06-03-2006 05:20 PM

I didn´t see the tut. is it nurbs or poly? if it´s a polygon model just open the duplicate option box and check instance. keep in mind to scale the duped object in a minus direction, which flips it over to the other side. means if you want to flip your obj over the X-axis you have to put (-1) in X-axis in the option box.

if it is nurbs you will have to select both corresponding vertices on each side (opposite of each other), then move them together or scale to increase/decrease volume.

hope that helped.

mmoore5553 06-03-2006 06:09 PM

it is nurbs ...it is about ten mins in the first video. i have the upper head done and jaw. I have the vertix but still not working at all. I have watched it over and over

i can select one set of vertix but hold shift and try to select more and cant.

Thank god the tut was free ..i would losing my mind at this point. Noobie headaches

Falott 06-03-2006 07:31 PM

just sleep a night over this and you will see, solution comes next day when your mind is cleared again.

cheers!