Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Work In Progress (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=34)
-   -   Revolver (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=25683)

kinddoggofwar 30-03-2007 08:21 AM

Revolver

I thought I would practice texturing, but I still didnt get the lighting down... Any help would be appreciated on making this revolver more realistic!

http://img510.imageshack.us/img510/8...volver1tz4.jpg
http://img510.imageshack.us/img510/1...volver2fj6.jpg
http://img240.imageshack.us/img240/6...volver3xq9.jpg

farbtopf 30-03-2007 09:47 AM

I am not an expert in texturing, but it seems to as if your metal is not reflecting an environment. (I might be wrong though)
If you want metal to look realistic it needs to reflect something. There are heaps of tutorials out on this topic.
Also the trigger seams to be too rigid, try to shape it a bit more. Not that I ever touched a gun, but I think usually they are shaped sort of ergonomically to suit your finger.

severinianthony 30-03-2007 09:52 AM

Bevel the edges of the metallic "case" and round out the handle a little more; that should move it away from looking square-ish ;)

mirek03 30-03-2007 02:29 PM

Im no expert either but the texture on the nickle seems wrong, looks white, as mentioned no reflections or highlights, ray tracing might help.., I suspect the lads here might try mental ray but and some sort of GI.

At least the wood needs some texturing like noise or a little grain. Needs to be dirty a little, looks so new it doesn't look real. Use the burn tool maybe in PS and give it some wear.

kinddoggofwar 31-03-2007 03:11 AM