Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   Need help on motion path and cameras (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=22050)

pandur 21-06-2006 03:26 PM

Need help on motion path and cameras

hi there,
i'm a pretty noob to maya, and i have to animate a short movie for university class.

My problem is:

I created a scenerie (a football game) and animated a camera following a curve (motion path). This lasts 75 frames, in the 76th frame i want to detach the camera from this curve and it should follow an onther curve.

big problem told short, i can't detach that damn camera in that particular frame. If i detach it, it is detached from the beginning. :(

Could anyone help me please?!?
Pandur

p.s: Sorry for my bad english, i'm from germany ;)

Falott 21-06-2006 03:39 PM

why don´t you combine both curves and create a long one?

skywola 21-06-2006 04:03 PM

Another possible solutions is, you could do one scene up to the point where you want to change the camera direction, then do another scene picking up where the other one left off.

I do this now and then just by making a duplicate copy of the scene in question, running the first copy of the scene up to the point I want the change to take place, then opening the second copied file and deleting all the animation used in the first scene with the camera in the start position of the new scene.

pandur 21-06-2006 07:16 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Falott
why don´t you combine both curves and create a long one?
Because i want a hard break between the two camera movements.

If i use one long curve, i have a smooth camera movement, and this would spoil most of the effect and speed. :)

@skywola:
hm, to be honest, i cant follow you. :D

I don't clearly understand how to do that in maya. :(

Btw: I'm running maya 6

skywola 21-06-2006 07:38 PM