Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Technical Issues (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   PLEASE HELP!!! Maya setup (Apache tutorial) (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=33023)

akeyo 05-09-2009 10:43 PM

PLEASE HELP!!! Maya setup (Apache tutorial)

I am very new to maya, i havent even purchased it yet i just got the trial today. I bought the apache tutorial to do it (well im not very new to 3d i have used lightwave for a year or so and 3ds max, also some 3d stuff with flash) so im at the art of the tutorial were he puts some stuff on the newly created shelf from the "edit polygon menu" i cant even find that menu!!!

I am on a mac using maya 2010 trial version

please help me, i searched every menu for these tools im missing:

Extrude face
Extrude edge
append to polygon tool
merge vertices

i think thats all the tools i cannot find any help much appreciated!!!

stwert 06-09-2009 12:08 AM

I think in the newer versions of maya things like extrude face and extrude edge have just been combined into a single command "extrude" under edit mesh, and it will either extrude edges or faces depending on what is selected.

I think "merge" works for vertices, but there is also a "merge vertex tool" which you can use interactively without selecting the vertices first.

I have the append to polygon tool under my edit mesh menu, but I am using 2009, so it may have changed?

Hope that helps.

akeyo 06-09-2009 12:37 AM

thanks! not to question what your saying but can anyone verifiy that this info is correct and assist me on finding the other tools :/ thanks in advance

akeyo 06-09-2009 02:15 AM

ok i figured out all the tools, i think...

But the script the reference plane script. i cant figure out were to put it!!!

I have tried my documents>maya>(no script folder here so i created one)