Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   Modelling: Polys or Nurbs (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=15618)

j5ive 28-02-2005 04:32 PM

Modelling: Polys or Nurbs

Could someone explain to me the advantages/disadvantages of modelling using Nurbs and the same with poly's, and what instances would you choose to model with one over the other?

Thanks

Ps I'm very new to Maya and have lots of little questions to help get my head around this 'new' software package.

Mike

Saiyan 28-02-2005 06:03 PM

Most models are done with polys I think.....the general feeling I get is that polys are just easier to work with. I have heard some say that they like modelling inanimate objects in nurbs and organic in polys and visa versa. Really I think you should try modelling the same thing, one nurbs and one poly.....remembering that sometimes there are more than one way to do things in maya, every model has it's creator's style

Saiyan:cool:

LauriePriest 28-02-2005 06:39 PM

Nurbs are nice because they have a very clean typoligy, so even if your modelling a head which would be harder to rig up nicely in NURBS you can convert to polys/ sub div and get a very nice typoligy if your using 1:1 span nurbs patches.

Basically for a beginner a good rule of thumb is that polys are good for practically everything, but for some objects such as space ships or extremeley curvey forms it may be wiser to use NURBS due to the fact that you can achive a nie curvey surface with very little geometry. e.g. a boad.

But it boils down to what your modelling and what you prefer to model with. As Saiyan said, try both and see which you perfer.

DgAPc 01-03-2005 05:54 AM