Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   modelling an aeroplane (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=16504)

acute 28-04-2005 10:25 AM

modelling an aeroplane

hi im just starting my first animation project at university and i am modelling a military plane, does anyone have any tips on how to model this. I have basic knowledge of working with nurbs but i think that using a polygon cylinder would be the best way to model it??
any help would be apretiated!
thanks
acute

kennez 28-04-2005 10:59 AM

Try the Spitfire tutorial on this very site. It's an excellent series, showing how to build one of the all time classic fighters.

acute 28-04-2005 11:02 AM

yeh if you got 30 qid going spare and decent internet connection, unfortunatly i have neither i am a student without a penny to my name!

kennez 28-04-2005 11:14 AM

Same here. Third year student at the University of Teesside.

Essentially, what the tutorial does is starts with NURBS, and roughs out the basic shape of the plane, creating the wings using two EP curves, and then lofting them. Each part is then converted into polys for adding more detail, before converting to SubD to tweak the shape further.

Kurt, who did the tutorial, can probably offer more advice, but I strongly recommend that you save up for the video. It's well worth it.

lisa_gonzalez 28-04-2005 11:19 AM