Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   Project Planning Ideas and Help (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=38251)

dustykhan 04-09-2012 08:20 AM

Project Planning Ideas and Help

I feel I have now got to a stage where I will be able to work on a project from start to finish without too many problems. I haven't tried my hand at character modelling as of yet but it is not something that interests me as much as architecture and landscapes, but is something I would like learn.

I feel one of my biggest set backs is the lack of planning I do before going into a project. I am not very good at drawing and it disheartens me when I spend time drawing a concept and it looks pants. I then get lost in what i'm doing and what i need to do etc... and I end up getting very unmotivated as I have 1001 things I could be doing to continue, but don't know where to start or what to do next :(

So I would like to ask if anybody has any suggestions, tips and ideas on ways of starting a project and planning as I think this gets very overlooked by beginners such as myself. Ultimately what do you think would be a good sort of project to test my knowledge.

Once I have feedback I will start a WiP thread so if any of you are interested you can follow my progress there.

daverave 04-09-2012 08:54 AM

I would suggest doing one of the sites challenges and see or ask how the other competitors are planning there scenes, you will also learn a lot more of stuff you dont normally do..............dave

dustykhan 04-09-2012 02:40 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Thanks for the response Daverave.