Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Technical Issues (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   open gl (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=24920)

mastone 04-02-2007 04:50 AM

open gl
 
Hi,

I recently discovered that my videocard supports open gl(it's a Sapphire Radeon X1950XTX, 512 MB, GDDR4, PCI Express x16).
so my question is how do i enable open gl in maya?

enhzflep 04-02-2007 05:52 AM

To check if your card is working in in OpenGL, just goto Particles->CreateEmitter. Then hit play until you've got a few particles on screen, select Hardware Render in the Render Globals and render a frame. If you can see grey dots then you're ready to rock and roll - you can hardware render.

At this point, if you have a look at the Output Window, you should see a line that starts with Hardware Renderer.
FYI, mine says:
Hardware Renderer : vendor(ATI Technologies Inc.), renderer(RADEON 9550 x86/SSE2), version(2.0.5147 WinXP Release)
fragment API(ATI Fragment Program)
vertex API(Cg vertex programs)
Video card does not support NonPowerOfTwo textures.

And yeah, I know mine's crud.
S.

EDIT: I'd intended to include this mel script I use for selecting the render type - much quicker than fighting your way through the dialog boxes.

Code:

window -title "Render Type";
columnLayout -adjustableColumn true;
  button
        -label "HW Render"
        -command "setCurrentRenderer mayaHardware;";
  button
        -label "SW Render"
        -command "setCurrentRenderer mayaSoftware;";
  button
        -label "MR Render"
        -command "setCurrentRenderer mentalRay;";
showWindow;


mastone 05-02-2007 02:02 AM

oh, oke thanks a lot, i didn't even look at the hardware renderer because on my old computer i would get crappy renders:eek:


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:58 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Simply Maya 2018