Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   Desperate help! Maya fluids (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=35370)

Mayastudent2011 28-03-2011 06:14 PM

Desperate help! Maya fluids

Hi,
I am completely new to MAYA. I am trying to create 6 or 7 oil fire plumes like in this image for an art project.

I need to recreate 6 or 7 oil fire plumes individually with a duration of 2-3 minutes and I will composite them in an after effects composition. The size and shape should be identical to the plumes in this image.

David 29-03-2011 01:54 AM

I hate to say it but if your totally new to Maya forget it. 7 clouds of smoke identical to a photograph lol I know people that would have problems with with this after using Maya for years.

Might as well stick up a picture of toy story 3 and say help, I need to do this in the next 10 minutes.

2 minutes of smoke at realistic resolution and 30fps is 3,600 frames I've just set up a simple fluid x7 with self shadowing and some half decent lighting and it would take about 33 days to finish rendering (quad processed i7 @ 3.8 ghz) and even that would not be what i'd call photo real pretty close but....

If you new to Maya and looking to replicate photrelistic smoke in a hurry i think you'll be in for a disappointment. If you just want crapy low rez smoke well this is doable.

Dave

Mayastudent2011 29-03-2011 02:49 AM

Holy crap, that is terrible news. It doesn't have to be high res at that distance anyway. Doing it in 3D would be over kill anyway. I just wanted to do something like this but with a longer duration and different colour. 1st 17 seconds YouTube - Michael Murphy VFX Reel

David 29-03-2011 03:24 AM

Mayastudent It's not as bad as I make it seam, but this really is not something you'll want to be doing your first time out in Maya.