Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   Modeling a Tub / Pipe With Texture (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=18672)

aduguay 15-10-2005 06:34 PM

Modeling a Tub / Pipe With Texture

Hello all you Maya pro's!!

I'm still new to Maya and I'm wondering if anyone can give me some tips.

I have to Model a Pipe that has a texture on it. I need to Animate a camera down this Pipe as if we where flying through it.

Here is an example of what it should look like.

http://homepage.mac.com/WebObjects/F...ng1.html#file0

I thought of extruding a circle along a curve for the pipe. But how would I do the texture, and achieve the lighting like in this photo?

Hope someone can help.

Adam

Shadeblade 15-10-2005 06:45 PM

The link doesn't work for me.

sspikedudley 15-10-2005 06:48 PM

yes go with exturing the circle down the curve, then take a look at some of the preset textures in Maya some of these may suit your needs you could even go about and add a layered texture node which you can then plug multiple textures in to get a layered effect on your pipe, so for example you could add a noise texture for a general colour, then go and add a corrorsion texture for a rust effect, then plug these both into the layered texture and plug that into your material, if you want lighting all the way down your pipe when animating, simply set up a lighting rig with is perented to the camera so for example you could have the light just sitting behind the camera pointing out and wherever the camera will go the light will follow

aduguay 15-10-2005 08:04 PM

Pipe Grid Lines

Thanks for the reply!!

The Pipe I'm building is supposed to represent in inner Pipe of a Cable from
an internet connection. (Or Internet Cable provider)

Here are the examples... hopefully this link works,

http://homepage.mac.com/adamduguay/FileSharing1.html