Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Work In Progress (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=34)
-   -   Lamp WIP, 2nd project (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=9103)

neoarcadia 25-11-2003 03:54 AM

Lamp WIP, 2nd project

1 Attachment(s)
Hey everyone, I doubt anyone really remembers me, but I submitted a WIP on a starbucks coffee cup. Anyway, it's been a while since i touched Maya, and have only been touching it randomly over the last few months..

Anyway, i'm using my coffee cup that I made a while back and decided to make a pretty realistic lamp to "illuminate" the cup.. I don't know where I get these ideas (Pixar? :D ).. So heres the head of the lamp so far..

Made it all in nurbs, while some other pieces of the lamp (not rendered yet) are made in polys, I'm kinda experimenting with subd's, polys, and nurbs.. getting a feel for them all.. Testing tools out n such, I'm still learning, I've got a long way to go, but id love critiques on it.

:D :D

Pony 25-11-2003 04:03 AM

The heat vents in the back are nice. Really good over all. Shading is nice for that pixar afect also.. LOL

neoarcadia 25-11-2003 06:02 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Another render. Put the coord in there just to test the extrude tool out. Added a few other pieces to it, and gave everything a flat lambert shader for now. Not going to touch the materials until im done, or at least try to :)

Pony 25-11-2003 12:07 PM

damn nice render though.. MentalRay ?

Ra1Der 25-11-2003 12:21 PM

what is mental ray? btw I love the lamp!!! and out of interest was it a polygon you extruded to make the wire? or did you use nurbs circle and path?

neoarcadia 25-11-2003 05:25 PM