Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   what's wrong with my render? shadows problem (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=34332)

n88tr 12-08-2010 07:52 PM

what's wrong with my render? shadows problem
 
I was trying to follow this tutorial for working on my lighted scenes

http://area.autodesk.com/tutorials/r...s_final_gather

But mine doesn't look quite like that. I have some strange shadows and artifacts if I'm using that term right. I could use some help fixing them.

http://img580.imageshack.us/img580/3...htowercon3.png

Thanks a lot.

daverave 12-08-2010 08:30 PM

I think your shadow resolution is set to low, bump it up,,,,,,,,,,,dave

n88tr 12-08-2010 09:13 PM

Ok, but now my image looks like a gaussian blur is all over it

Joopson 13-08-2010 10:30 AM

Wait, are you using depthmap shadows or raytracing?

(Looks like depthmap to me, but I'm not sure. If so, switch to raytracing. If not, well, I'm not quite sure)

mastone 13-08-2010 12:06 PM

If you use depth map it projects over all the geometry of the scene the lightrays "touch" so disable the cast shadows attribute of the groundplane , maybe up the resolution if you get stairstepping

Joopson 13-08-2010 12:12 PM

Wait, does final gather even work with depthmap? I didn't think so, but no one seems to be mentioning that....

BrianM 13-08-2010 11:33 PM

I've had the same problem. Make sure that "use mid distance" is checked under depth map shadows, it's on by default by you might have turned it off by accident. You can also try to increase the bias value, these are the two main attributes to reduce shadow map artifacts.


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:05 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Simply Maya 2018