Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Modeling (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Polygon tutorial question HELP HELP (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=27879)

solakali 19-10-2007 12:02 AM

Polygon tutorial question HELP HELP
 
Hi,
I am very new to the Maya program. I have yet to creat anything besides a mess.
Well I met a guy who owns his own animation company through a friend of my wifes. He has offered to train me if I can complete this tutorial.
I am running into road blocks left and right.

The problem I am having is finding the tools and how to make two planes and place two seperate JPEGs into these planes.

Those are the main problems so far. I have found the create polygon tool and imported the jpeg into one plane, but the rest Im really stuck.

Can someone please go through this tutorial and show me where the tools are to achieve each step? or how to achieve each step?

If so, I will be greatly appreciative. I want to learn this program so bad, but right now it feels like Im climbing mount everest.

Here's the tutorial. thanks
http://www.thehobbitguy.com/tutorial...ing/index.html

p.s. I only have the Maya Personal Learning Edition.. not sure if that will be a problem... just thought Id mention it

19-10-2007 01:17 AM

Can you point out your exact problems and what version of Maya you have? :confused:

RockyMills_01 19-10-2007 01:26 AM

Hi,
I looked at the tutorial and I could see your problem. The tutorial itself is fairly difficult for a newbie who does not know his way around maya ,also the tutorial did not explain how to insert the 2 planes and add a image on them.
The are plenty of tutorials online that will tell you how to make image planes.
Let me know if your still having issues.

Good Luck.

solakali 19-10-2007 01:27 AM

Oh yea..

Sorry.. that would have been better..

Right now.. this part of the tutorial.. after placing the 2 jpeg files into the sourceimage folder.. I cant go any further.

" 1) The next thing you're going to want to do is create 2 planes. One facing the front view and one facing the side view.

2) Create a material for each of your drawings and assign them to the appropriate plane.

3) Turn the transparency of the materials down to about .5,

4) then assign the 2 planes to a layer.

Assigning them to a layer will allow you to do 2 things...

1.) it will allow you to reference the planes so that you don't accidentally select them while you are modeling

2.) it will allow you to make them visible and invisible at the click of a button."


Thanks for ur help

solakali 19-10-2007 01:31 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by RockyMills_01
Hi,
I looked at the tutorial and I could see your problem. The tutorial itself is fairly difficult for a newbie who does not know his way around maya ,also the tutorial did not explain how to insert the 2 planes and add a image on them.
The are plenty of tutorials online that will tell you how to make image planes.
Let me know if your still having issues.

Good Luck.

Cool..

My wife thought of using a forum to help me learn.. GREAT idea.. glad I joined. Even tho I havent scratched the surface I can tell this site is gonna help me along tremendously.

If you can direct me to those tutorials that would be great. Im so new to this its like I can barely get around and find stuff.

Thanks for the help guys

19-10-2007 01:34 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by solakali
Oh yea..

Sorry.. that would have been better..

Right now.. this part of the tutorial.. after placing the 2 jpeg files into the sourceimage folder.. I cant go any further.

" 1) The next thing you're going to want to do is create 2 planes. One facing the front view and one facing the side view.

2) Create a material for each of your drawings and assign them to the appropriate plane.

3) Turn the transparency of the materials down to about .5,

4) then assign the 2 planes to a layer.

1. Create some polygon planes, itís as simple as that!

2. Go to your hypershade and create 2 lamberts and set the colors to the files

3. Donít do this, just use X-Ray

4. Create a layer (bottom right of the screen), then select the planes, then right-click, and hit add selection

Iím guessing by your questions that you havenít downloaded the free tuts on this site?

Also, the Help (F1) files will help you a lot.


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:54 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Simply Maya 2018