Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Work In Progress (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=34)
-   -   town scene WIP (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=9760)

deryk 10-01-2004 04:44 PM

town scene WIP

1 Attachment(s)
hi everyone.

i've been working with maya for around 2 weeks now, and have just finished the first four chapters of the maya 4.5 fundamentals book (since i have no prior 3d experience). to sort of practice my skills, i decided to create a town scene of sorts. but first thing's first, i'm starting with a single building. i've posted the image here.

please feel free to give me your comments and suggestions. i'm particularly looking for suggestions on how to make things look more real, as i can't pinpoint exactly what i need. oh, and see the lens flare? i don't know what caused that, now it's appearing in ALL my renders, even after deleting all the lights in the outliner. HELP with that too, please. :D

thanks everyone!

dirack 10-01-2004 06:14 PM

Hey there, looking good :)!
Some c&c, try looking in the hypershade to delete the 'optical fx' Or if you changed it's name look for that :p.

The hill on the back look kind of unrealistic, so if you want to change that it depends on what you will do in the future. You are creating a town scene, so I presum in the final render some building are going to be in front of it? If not, try adding some dirt, colour variations, small bumps in the texture.