Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   Easiest way to have different camera angles for a scene? (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=31491)

Mike45450 05-12-2008 12:07 PM

Easiest way to have different camera angles for a scene?

Hi guys,

I've been playing around with Maya for a few months now,and am starting to work on animating my characters with little short scenes. However i'm wonderng what's the easiest way to have different camera shots using just one camera so I can easily render out an avi file if needed?

The method that pops into my head is to key the camera at the start point, then key it again in the same position one frame before I want to change shot (so that I don't get any translate movement), and then move it into it's new position for the new shot and key that. But that seems way too longwinded and inefficient, so is there an easier way? And feel free to correct my method such as if there's a way to say "at X seconds automatically switch to Camera Y" or whatever.

Thanks!

05-12-2008 12:15 PM

Why don't you just create more cameras?

Mike45450 05-12-2008 12:26 PM

Because wouldn't that create a bunch of seperate video files that i'd need to stitch back together with some video editing software? Unless there's a way to say "at X seconds jump to Camera Y".

Like I said, i've not really animated before so not sure on the best methods. I've been looking at Mike's global rendering settings tutorial video and he suggests to render out in TGA images, so that's thrown me off a bit.

05-12-2008 12:27 PM

Just render out the amount of frames you need for the one camera, and then go to the other camera and render out the rest of the frames needed.

Gen 05-12-2008 12:32 PM