Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   Cutting shape out of guitar (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=24717)

IJke 21-01-2007 06:44 PM

Cutting shape out of guitar

Hello, I'm very new to maya and i've got a question. I'm moddeling my guitar, and I would like to know how to cut out the musicnote type shapes you see below. Of course they only need to be cut out of the front of the guitar, not the back. I tried outlining the shape with split polygon tool and moving vertices, but that got very messy. Any help would be great!

http://web.mac.com/ijkebotman/iWeb/S...elding%201.png

By the way, the body of the guitar is just a polygon cube with vertices moved to fit the general shape of the guitar.

enhzflep 22-01-2007 11:33 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Sounds like you need to see the Making 3D Maya logo. Just do what they describe, but with your music note. Then just do a PolyGons->Booleans->Difference to cut the shape out, and finally remove the face at the bottom of the cut-out, and voila! You've got the cut out, and an edge to provide thickness to the front panel.

Can't remember where I got it from and it's a pdf, so I'll just post it.

S

IJke 22-01-2007 01:44 PM

Thanks for your reply, I did everything in the tutorial. It worked once, I then undid it because I deleted the curve (so I could rotate it and do the same for the other note). Made another bevel, did it again and it didn't work anymore. The body of the guitar now disappears when I Booleans -> Difference, for both notes.

Before:
http://web.mac.com/ijkebotman/iWeb/S...elding%202.png

After:
http://web.mac.com/ijkebotman/iWeb/S...elding%203.png

If I select the note first, then the body and do booleans, the body disappears, if I select body first and then the note, the note disappears.

EDIT: Hmmm, I tried again and somehow it worked, anyone know why?