Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Modeling (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Need a little guidance on my female character (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=5192)

NitroLiq 15-04-2003 03:35 AM

Need a little guidance on my female character

1 Attachment(s)
Just doing some mirror and smooth tests to see how things are lining up on my model as this is my first attempt at character modeling. I'm worried about the mesh around the arm (see attached pic) and the way it's bunching up. Also concerned with the best way to model breasts. If someone can shoot some tips my way, that'd be great. I've attached a few screens for ya to see.

NitroLiq 15-04-2003 03:36 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Another shot...smoothed figure (seam in the center).

NitroLiq 15-04-2003 03:37 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Current working version (no smooth, no mirror, no breasts or definition)....i need to fix the arm area seen in the first screen as well as define the muscles of one side.

kbrown 15-04-2003 08:00 AM

Can you take a close-up of the arm area from the low-poly version? Can't see it properly from this angle but it seems that you need to do some more poly splitting...

Great start btw!

NitroLiq 15-04-2003 01:07 PM

1 Attachment(s)
KB,

Here are shots of two sides of the arm area. If you're still having trouble checking it out, let me know and I'll email the scene file to you. There are gaps I still have to take care of between vertices when the arm is attached.

Also, with regards to the breasts, would I just split polys into a circular shape and extrude?

Pete

kbrown 15-04-2003 01:32 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Ok, I'm in a hurry so I don't have time to check this properly but anyway here are some tips.

Combine the arms with the torso if they aren't already. Split along the red lines like in the pic below. Snap-move and merge the vertices circled with yellow...