Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   Info wanted on Drawing Lessons (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=24665)

Stephen.Smith 17-01-2007 09:44 AM

Info wanted on Drawing Lessons

Hey guys. im a newbie with regards to the 3D world and i'm currently learning my way round the Maya PLE using books and tutorials. I'm rubbish at drawing but would really like to improve and i was hoping one u guys may be able to tell me what particular areas of drawing i should concentrate on learning, if any.

Cheers
Steve

petrol 17-01-2007 11:53 AM

Bit of an open ended question that. I guess it all depends what you're interested in. If you're interested in characters - try getting into a local life-drawing class, if you're more interested in scenery and environments then maybe look for a still-life or landscapes class. These kinds of classes rarely teach skills though, it's more a place to practice drawing, so give it a go but dont expect miracles :)

Good luck!

Stephen.Smith 17-01-2007 11:56 AM

Thanx 4 the reply Petrol. Its more Character Animation that im interested in so Life Drawings would b a good place to start as u said.

Thanx 1ce again - Steve

mirek03 17-01-2007 01:07 PM

try the new free tut by Kurt, 'character drawing' you will find it in the 'free tuts' section. that will give you the good oil :)

petrol 17-01-2007 01:07 PM

No worries mate. Yeah life drawing will definately benefit you. Even if you cant draw amazingly well, it'll help you to understand more about lighting, anatomy, texture, poses and so on. By the way if you live anywhere like where i am, you might find those kinds of classes difficult to find in a regular phonebook. My advice is to hit your local art/graphic shop and ask the people at the counter if they could point you in the right direction.

mirek03 17-01-2007 01:12 PM