Simply Maya User Community

Simply Maya User Community (https://simplymaya.com/forum/index.php)
-   Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge (https://simplymaya.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   MAC vs PC (https://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=24896)

surferbro66 02-02-2007 08:57 AM

MAC vs PC

I don’t know if this is the right forum for this but here goes. I have been playing around with Maya for a few years and have decided to get serious with it this year and learn ZBrush. so before I buy my own version of Maya ( I use my room mates) and ZBrush, should I be thinking about switching to a Mac? I have a pretty up to date PC and high end Graphics card, I know Mac used to be the Graphic art standard but is it still? I see lots of plug in's for Maya for PC are there less for Mac? :bow:

gster123 02-02-2007 09:59 AM

Theres no difference, there is in the useability and this is where you will get the divide of opinion, to me Macs look pretty, but are limitted in the hardware, software (unless you want to run windows under bootcamp, hence whats the point of having 2 Os's??)

As for Graphics standard, I think lots of studios run Pc's more than Macs

papalatistudios 02-02-2007 01:45 PM

If I had the money to buy the latest g5 with those new woodcrest xeon processors. I would! They are the fastest processors on the planet. Every benchmark every where will show that.

02-02-2007 02:05 PM

DONT BUY A MAC!!!!!!!!!!! THEY ARE THE OPITAMY OF EVILE

i say use good old windows its easier

papalatistudios 02-02-2007 02:21 PM

Im not a MAC user, but I will just say this....

We as pc users have always been used to the windows format....

WINDOWS = DATABASE

...the same was for those of us who remember dos.

Now look at MAC OS, hierarchy...yes, but ever thing does not lie folder within folder with folder within subfolder, oh wait dont forget to uncheck hidden files and folders to find another group of folders with folders.