SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Maya tips & tricks
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 21-06-2006, 05:00 PM   #136
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

neva knew that also arran

but if u do the same with the mmb it zooms out
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
pbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2006, 05:44 PM   #137
Sephiroth II
Subscriber
 
Sephiroth II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bahamas
Posts: 103
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default quick tip

I thought I'd add a tip of my own. This is a quick tip on texturing. If you want to texture something with a quick but good texture to use as reference or representation then you can go onto the paint effects shelf. Then select "Get Brush" (the two green paint brushes) and then select the item or texture you want from the Visor. You can get to the Visor other ways but this is the fastest way to get to it and get to the textures you wish to use. Once you have one selected, paint a single stroke with it wherever you want. Now with that same stroke still selected select the "Paint Effects to Poly" button.



That way it will turn the stroke into a polygon and the texture that was used to paint it will now be in the hypershade. Now just delete the curves and strokes and such in the Outliner and voila. You now have a texture in the hypershade of whatever the stroke was.



Just apply it to whatever shape you wanted to apply it too. Great metal texture for metal spheres and pinballs and such when you use the "Chrome Tube.mel" under funMesh.
__________________
My password is ********.
Sephiroth II is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2006, 02:33 PM   #138
pbman
Subscriber
 
pbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default right or left side?

to view model from other side without creating new camera sets

works in maya 7 not sure aabout the others but worth a check

in the view port go view -> predefined bookmarks-> an chose from the list
ie right or left side
top or bottom
front or back
__________________
Now at SMU doing BSc 3D Computer Animation so its hard to get on here
My wire render tut http://forum.simplymaya.com/showthre...threadid=20973
pbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2006, 11:39 PM   #139
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Not sure if this has been posted before...

If you want to view an object in all four views, but don't want to manually zoom in on each view, select the object in one of the views, hold down shift and press 'F'. All four views will then zoom into the object automatically.

hurrah!
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 09:50 AM   #140
parka
Registered User
 
parka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Adding to the Ctrl + Space tip...
Can't remember how to do the fullscreen in Maya though.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ctrlm.jpg
Views:	422
Size:	67.4 KB
ID:	31344  
parka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 09:55 AM   #141
parka
Registered User
 
parka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Maya keyboard shortcuts

http://3dallusions.com/forums/showthread.php?t=805

http://www.3d-palace.com/forum/showthread.php?t=5857
parka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 10:00 AM   #142
parka
Registered User
 
parka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Double clicking on Toolbar icons or Shelf icons opens up their option dialogue box
parka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 10:13 AM   #143
parka
Registered User
 
parka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Tired of selecting those back vertices when you only want the front ones?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	backfaces.jpg
Views:	440
Size:	52.6 KB
ID:	31345  
parka is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to parka For This Useful Post:
Ambrosiussen (04-02-2014)
Old 22-11-2006, 06:46 PM   #144
parka
Registered User
 
parka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

(Adapted this trick from one of AREA's tutorials)

Tip: Creating ONE shortcut key to smooth and unsmooth

1. Open the Hotkey Editor ( Window -> Settings/Preferences -> Hotkeys. )
2. Under "Categories" scroll down to "User" and on the far right press "New".
3. Give it a name ( e.g. pSmoothUnsmoothPress )
- Write this into the command-field:

SmoothPolygon;
select -cl;


- Then click "Accept" and the recently created command is listed under "Commands"
- Assign a hotkey for this operation and make sure "Press" is selected

4. Create another command called pSmoothUnsmoothRelease or something similar.
Type this into the command field:

undo;

- Assign it to the same button, but make sure "Release" is checked.
parka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2006, 04:45 AM   #145
sam_sonu1
Registered User
 
sam_sonu1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: india
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

this place is awesome....really awesome i never knew there are places like this in worl.... i thank u all 'cause i've learned manything 4m here.....
__________________
sam
sam_sonu1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2007, 11:19 PM   #146
mr:smart
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

you can allways save prests to your attrbute for all objcts and use it eny time you want by click on presets buton
__________________
sorry about bad english
mr:smart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2007, 08:11 AM   #147
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,883
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default SAVE OFTEN

1. Saving your work often can save you alot of frustration (easily forgotten until it's too late).

2. Every once in awhile, it's good to save as a different file name in case you need to go back to a previous version of your model.

3. Computers can crash. Every once in awhile, save your work on a jump drive or disc, etc. If your computer crashes for good, you still have your work.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2007, 10:06 PM   #148
parka
Registered User
 
parka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

There's incremental save

Go to menu, File->Save->Option box.
Check the stuff you need, pretty self explanatory.
Hope this tip is not repeated

parka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2007, 01:37 PM   #149
barnettbeans
Registered User
 
barnettbeans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Coventry
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Im very new to this but,

When reading a tutorial in adobe instead of flicking between windows i use desktop pins it sticks any window to the top. So you can have the screen in your view when copying details, or watch a tutorial while using Maya with out Maya minimizing.

hope this helps.

To use a desktop pin open your Dsktpin application and it will appear in your system tray. simply click on this icon and click on the window you want to keep on top.


Job Done
__________________
http://www.dell.com/html/global/topics/gaming/en/us/us/dhs/systems-notebook.html

gimme.

Last edited by barnettbeans : 25-05-2007 at 02:44 PM.
barnettbeans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2007, 02:13 PM   #150
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

thanks for the tip - how do you use a desktop pin?

you can also open a web browser in a maya view by going to panel>web browser.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 08:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.