SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Modeling / Modeling / Trying to loft a terrain: Fail.
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-12-2010, 04:26 AM   #1
garch
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Trying to loft a terrain: Fail.

Hi all,

I'm trying to model a terrain from a series of topo lines I drew in CAD. I elevated them properly, I rebuild the curves to that they have the same amount of points, but some sections of the topo are giving me a hard time. They are folded on themselves, I guess because the CV's are not aligned (checked the curve direction, it's good.) I'm attaching a screenshot, anyone has ideas on how to fix this?

Thanks!

The problematic loft is the third one from the top...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen shot 2010-12-12 at 12.21.52 AM.png
Views:	162
Size:	70.8 KB
ID:	45310  
garch is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to garch For This Useful Post:
Old 12-12-2010, 05:30 AM   #2
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

I have had the same problem going from ACAD to Maya....I THINK (cant remember) in the newer ACAD you can triangulate a mesh.....I will do a check later for you. I too tried lofting from polylines but got the same result as you did. Will get back to you mate

cheers bullPS if you are trying to loft dont do all of the curves at once either...one at a time I found but it is painful if you have a lot of contours
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes

Last edited by bullet1968 : 12-12-2010 at 05:31 AM. Reason: addenda
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bullet1968 For This Useful Post:
Old 13-12-2010, 01:47 AM   #3
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Hi mate,

well I exported a DXF from my Survey package of a project I am currently on...no pipe work (it is in another model). Maya didnt like the big file. I have it triangulated BEFORE I import...so if your CAD can create or interpolate a mesh it should come in just fine...the only thing I had to do was change the up direction to 'z' and not 'y' as Survey orientation is different.

So depending on which CAD program you use its possible. ACAD Im not sure if it can create meshes from points?? I know ACAD Land Desktop could map terrain and then export a mesh. Let me know what CAD program you used??
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	garch.JPG
Views:	153
Size:	191.4 KB
ID:	45314  
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bullet1968 For This Useful Post:
Old 13-12-2010, 02:00 AM   #4
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

And you are selecting them in the correct order?
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Joopson For This Useful Post:
Old 13-12-2010, 03:08 AM   #5
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Good point Joopson,

I couldnt find a triangulate points in ACAD...it can build surfaces etc but I couldnt get it to build correctly. Im sure there would be a way as the data I get for setout in the field is ususally done in ACAD.

sorry mate
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bullet1968 For This Useful Post:
Old 14-12-2010, 07:04 PM   #6
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,997
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

Here I have made 5 cv curves.

Notice:
1. all the start cv's (the boxes) are aligned.
2. all the curves have the same direction vector (the line from the box to the U shape)
3. all the curves have the same number of cv's
4. all the cv's are spaced uniformly

Before lofting each curve must be selected in order. Drag selecting will give unpredictable results.


and here is the loft:

__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ctbram For This Useful Post:
bullet1968 (14-12-2010)
Old 14-12-2010, 08:30 PM   #7
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Thanks ct...that is a help. I will point out however, that a complex terrain similar to what I do at work (see above) with multiple contours would take forever!! That image I posted is a small one and I could have cleaned it a little in civilcad (delete points (vertices)) but lose a little accuracy (depends what you want) has a total of 14 000 points....and thats just the contours! So linework would be intense and it would take you ages to loft all of that.

Here is the same image with contours only...the roads have 0.1 and 0.25m contours...the rest have 0.25 and 0.5m contours...and ALL of the polylines run in different directions (vectors) as when they design it, they dont care which way the lines go! so you can see doing something like an estate by lofting would be a right royal pain in the coight.

cheers bullet
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	contours.JPG
Views:	134
Size:	161.1 KB
ID:	45323  
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes

Last edited by bullet1968 : 14-12-2010 at 08:36 PM. Reason: spelling
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bullet1968 For This Useful Post:
Old 17-12-2010, 11:29 AM   #8
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,997
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

Short of writing a mel script or python data converter to organize large data sets there is no way to just dump huge amounts of curve data into maya and magically loft it. It has to meet all the conditions I listed and be selected in a specific order. This can be done, it just would require a way to logically parse the complex cad data and feed it to maya the way maya wants to see it.

You might want to check out creativecrash.com and see if there is a converter that exists.
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675

Last edited by ctbram : 17-12-2010 at 11:31 AM.
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ctbram For This Useful Post:
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.