SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Your Work / Work In Progress / Centaur WIP
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 27-12-2010, 12:19 AM   #1
Ozgalis
Events Team at Wargaming.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Crystal Lake, Illinois
Posts: 484
Thanks: 8
Thanked 74 Times in 69 Posts
Default Centaur WIP

Well I was in zBrush working on the sculpt when I realized that my UVs got all messed up, so I exported the lowest subd level from zBrush and cleaned it up in maya, currently in the process of redoing my UV's but here is the model in Maya atm.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Front.jpeg
Views:	592
Size:	34.1 KB
ID:	45449   Click image for larger version

Name:	back.jpeg
Views:	592
Size:	35.9 KB
ID:	45450  
Ozgalis is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ozgalis For This Useful Post:
Old 27-12-2010, 12:47 PM   #2
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Thanks: 41
Thanked 428 Times in 384 Posts
Default

A useful uv tip when uvs get messy from Maya to Zb.

If you have done a huge amount of sculpting in Z and the uvs are screwed just save a blend shape in Zb and reimport the original from maya and hit switch in Z, the original uvs will be transfered to the sculpt without you having to go back and forth to maya.

I had this a couple of years back on a job, and there isnt actually much written about it in any zbrush manual, so I did alot of resarch asking around as you should have to start over...

cheers
J
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jay For This Useful Post:
Old 28-12-2010, 12:21 AM   #3
Ozgalis
Events Team at Wargaming.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Crystal Lake, Illinois
Posts: 484
Thanks: 8
Thanked 74 Times in 69 Posts
Default

I will have to try that out Jay, may save me a lot of time later on..it seems like every project I bring into Z I mess up some how...can never get those darn Normal Maps to come out the first time.
Ozgalis is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ozgalis For This Useful Post:
Old 28-12-2010, 06:03 AM   #4
Ozgalis
Events Team at Wargaming.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Crystal Lake, Illinois
Posts: 484
Thanks: 8
Thanked 74 Times in 69 Posts
Default

Alright so I decided to test out my Normal Map before I get to far into sculpting and it's not working right, trying to upload some images now but its not working. Will post some so you can get an understanding of what I mean when I say its not working.

So it was Firefox being stupid, had to get on Internet Explorer =/

I figured it out, the Normal Map was upside down. Took the photos down since they dont need to be up anymore

Last edited by Ozgalis : 28-12-2010 at 06:35 AM.
Ozgalis is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ozgalis For This Useful Post:
Old 28-12-2010, 06:27 AM   #5
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Hey mate....hope the normal maps dont kill you....the only obvious thing I can see is:

The upper body is disproportionate to the centaur, it should be slightly bigger as do the arms.

You might want to alter that before you get too deep in Z??

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bullet1968 For This Useful Post:
Old 28-12-2010, 06:37 AM   #6
Ozgalis
Events Team at Wargaming.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Crystal Lake, Illinois
Posts: 484
Thanks: 8
Thanked 74 Times in 69 Posts
Default

thanks bullet, will have to change that in the morning going to watch a movie and pass out for the night, will post an update after I change the proportions tomorrow.
Ozgalis is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ozgalis For This Useful Post:
Old 28-12-2010, 08:04 PM   #7
Ozgalis
Events Team at Wargaming.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Crystal Lake, Illinois
Posts: 484
Thanks: 8
Thanked 74 Times in 69 Posts
Default

So I pulled down the torso a little, made the arms a little thicker, and pulled the back out some. I did notice that the back legs look to smooth down near the hoof.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	front.jpeg
Views:	573
Size:	25.4 KB
ID:	45482   Click image for larger version

Name:	back.jpeg
Views:	573
Size:	33.6 KB
ID:	45483  

Last edited by Ozgalis : 28-12-2010 at 08:36 PM.
Ozgalis is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ozgalis For This Useful Post:
Old 28-12-2010, 08:14 PM   #8
hamidz90
Registered User
 
hamidz90's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 37
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Default

it might just be me but the upper half seems smaller than the lower half of the body.....and the arms are way to small lol
hamidz90 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hamidz90 For This Useful Post:
Old 28-12-2010, 08:34 PM   #9
Ozgalis
Events Team at Wargaming.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Crystal Lake, Illinois
Posts: 484
Thanks: 8
Thanked 74 Times in 69 Posts
Default

hamidz: as in the torso needs to be stretched? from the bottom of the torso to the top of the head its almost as tall as the horse body. Here is an update to the arms let me know if they need to change at all, I pulled them out quite a bit and widened them more.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	front.jpeg
Views:	570
Size:	30.2 KB
ID:	45485  
Ozgalis is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ozgalis For This Useful Post:
Old 28-12-2010, 08:51 PM   #10
hamidz90
Registered User
 
hamidz90's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 37
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ozgalis View Post
hamidz: as in the torso needs to be stretched? from the bottom of the torso to the top of the head its almost as tall as the horse body. Here is an update to the arms let me know if they need to change at all, I pulled them out quite a bit and widened them more.
are you gonna make like a cartoony version of a centaur or a realistic one? because if you're going the cartoon style, i guess the last picture you posted has the correct proportions....but if you're wanting to make a more realistic one you should go somethign like this:


long time ago i made a centaur with Maya/Zbrush, i lost all my files and pretty much the only thing i have left is an iff picture file of the base mesh lol:
http://simplymaya.com/forum/attachme...1&d=1293573006

i know its not clear, but thats the only thing i have left :p
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	basemesh.jpg
Views:	578
Size:	23.8 KB
ID:	45486  
hamidz90 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hamidz90 For This Useful Post:
Old 28-12-2010, 08:59 PM   #11
Ozgalis
Events Team at Wargaming.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Crystal Lake, Illinois
Posts: 484
Thanks: 8
Thanked 74 Times in 69 Posts
Default

haha oh man that sucks, sorry to hear that. I was planning on attempting a realistic one, perhaps I should restart a base mesh? that or just tweak mine a lot...will have to debate lol. Thanks for the quick responds.
Ozgalis is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ozgalis For This Useful Post:
Old 29-12-2010, 12:31 AM   #12
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

have you got any refs Oz??? I posted some in the animal section yesterday which have some good images of horses, then I would just get an image of a weightlifter and try to composite the two maybe?

Thats gotta suck hamidz!! I know some one else who lost a crap load of work...not nice.

Nice model...very detailed!

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bullet1968 For This Useful Post:
Old 29-12-2010, 12:41 AM   #13
hamidz90
Registered User
 
hamidz90's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 37
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bullet1968 View Post
have you got any refs Oz??? I posted some in the animal section yesterday which have some good images of horses, then I would just get an image of a weightlifter and try to composite the two maybe?

Thats gotta suck hamidz!! I know some one else who lost a crap load of work...not nice.

Nice model...very detailed!

cheers bullet
lol the first pic in my post isnt the centaur i made...its just a reference image i found on the net to show the correct proportion of a realistic centaur.

the second pic, the base mesh, that one is mine and the only thing left of my centaur project, the details and all the other files i lost :p
hamidz90 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hamidz90 For This Useful Post:
Old 29-12-2010, 01:16 AM   #14
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Lol......still a good model whoever did it!!

I have been in a similar situation...stuck in a remote area...computer crashes..all my Survey data gone. Had to send it back to Perth...took a week...LUCKILY I got it back..3 months of calcs were in there LOL.

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bullet1968 For This Useful Post:
Old 29-12-2010, 06:55 AM   #15
Ozgalis
Events Team at Wargaming.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Crystal Lake, Illinois
Posts: 484
Thanks: 8
Thanked 74 Times in 69 Posts
Default

So I ended up restarting, I am so far actually happier with it. Maya started acting funky and kept not allowing me to go back to object mode so decided to stop after I finished blocking out the Horse Body...here it is so far.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Wire.jpg
Views:	549
Size:	59.4 KB
ID:	45499  
Ozgalis is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ozgalis For This Useful Post:
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jay_Outlaws Tales WiP thread Jay Work In Progress 301 23-01-2017 04:23 AM
apache WIP andrew_sorensen Work In Progress 9 23-12-2010 09:22 PM
Thumbnails in WIP & Finished Work Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 11 09-12-2010 05:22 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.