SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / help make middle-mouse button work with Maya!
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-03-2011, 03:18 PM   #1
hawkrider
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default help make middle-mouse button work with Maya!

Help! Running Maya 2011.5 on a Mac Pro, running OS-X 10.6.6. (Dual 2.4 Ghz Quads, 12 Gb RAM)
Forced to use a Dell standard, 3-button mouse, there is some strange mapping for the buttons.
LMB is ok. RMB is ok, but MMB is messed up.

The Scrollwheel works ok, but the middle mouse button simply does that 'Expos'e' thing (showing all the windoes on the desktop), and doesn't 'track' or allow pulling Hypershade tiles around, etc.

'System Preferences' offers no option for the middle mouse/scroll wheel.

How do I get the middle mouse button to work as it should?

Thanx!
hawkrider is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hawkrider For This Useful Post:
Old 01-03-2011, 05:17 PM   #2
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,373
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

It should be under System Prefs (that would be my expectation anyway, interesting that it doesn't seem to be there). Google a solution for mac, I don't think this could be changed in maya.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stwert For This Useful Post:
Old 01-03-2011, 05:28 PM   #3
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,373
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Okay, try going into System Prefs, then to Expose and Spaces, and turn off MMB as a hotkey for whatever it's doing. Then give your MMB a try in maya.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stwert For This Useful Post:
Old 01-03-2011, 07:16 PM   #4
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

Open System Prefs like Stwert said and click on Exposť & Spaces
In the middle it'll have all the short cuts you can use to use this stupid feature
just turn off the mouse short cuts and you'll be fine. you only need the keyboard short cuts for this stuff and if you need to use it regularly just use the active screen corners.
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Chirone For This Useful Post:
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
maya lagging omegaend Technical Issues 39 19-10-2012 11:18 AM
Maya Windows File corrupted on Mac cyranovb Technical Issues 4 14-07-2011 12:04 PM
Maya not keyframing properly! Gotmilk0112 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 01-02-2011 07:15 PM
3d mouse iamcreasy Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 9 07-01-2011 11:30 PM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.