SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 20-03-2011, 10:58 PM   #16
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

I'm not even sorry.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo-8.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	124.5 KB
ID:	46445  
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2011, 01:43 AM   #17
Mayaniac
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
 
Mayaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Cool idea. I think some of the logos are a bit too busy, especially given how small they will be on the iphone. Maybe if you went for something simpler, but just as telling. Maybe use binary to convey the general idea, but give it something to make it unique; like a binary spider/bug or a binary web.... but obviously a bit cooler.

hehe, this latest image is fun.
__________________
www.stevenegan-cgi.com

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
"Yes."
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2011, 01:46 AM   #18
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

the text also looks like it'll be too small to read. On an iphone 4 it will be easy, not so convinced for the lesser versions
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2011, 06:30 PM   #19
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chirone View Post
the text also looks like it'll be too small to read. On an iphone 4 it will be easy, not so convinced for the lesser versions
I was worried about that as well, so I tried it at the lower resolution first and then the higher one. It didn't really make any difference since it's a straight, not anti-aliased font. It is probably too small anyway though. I can read it fine but then I have fairly good eye sight.


@Mayaniac

Thanks, I think you're right about the logos, I never thought about a web. There has to be some kind of joke I can get there about the spider (bot) coming from the (world wide) web....

I definitely find making small things like this hard. It's hard to make it interesting without making it too busy.


I started with level 0, but do you think the next level should be level 1 or level 2? I just thought if I changed it to level 2 it might highlight the joke, rather than looking like something accidental.

Updates (that I can't really post in picture form) include wandering menu spiders and a moving bus.

Last edited by elephantinc : 21-03-2011 at 06:33 PM.
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2011, 09:24 PM   #20
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

the letters changing their boldness a lot would make it harder to read, at this zoom level it's readable but not fast. (at least that's what i think anyway)

it wouldn't make sense to start from level 0 and go straight to 2... if you went 0, 1, 2, 4, then it would make more sense... after all, 1 is also a power of 2...
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2011, 10:04 PM   #21
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chirone View Post
the letters changing their boldness a lot would make it harder to read, at this zoom level it's readable but not fast. (at least that's what i think anyway)

it wouldn't make sense to start from level 0 and go straight to 2... if you went 0, 1, 2, 4, then it would make more sense... after all, 1 is also a power of 2...
The joke was supposed to be that array indexes start at zero...
Although that has given me an idea, I might do the level numbers in binary of hexadecimal...

What do you mean change their boldness? At the moment they are part of the (bitmap) background image.

Last edited by elephantinc : 21-03-2011 at 10:07 PM.
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2011, 10:07 PM   #22
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

yeah but thats a weird joke. it's proper to start at level 0 you see... so missing out 1 would just be totally weird

boldness, eg, the 'o' in other is different to the 'o' in or
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2011, 10:14 PM   #23
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,374
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

I think what makes it more difficult to read, in part, is the all-caps. It's easier to read smaller font when it has both lower and upper case, since the eye is trained to read the shapes of words along with the letters themselves.
And I think Chirone is saying 0,1,2,3 etc would be fine.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2011, 10:32 PM   #24
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chirone View Post
yeah but thats a weird joke. it's proper to start at level 0 you see... so missing out 1 would just be totally weird

boldness, eg, the 'o' in other is different to the 'o' in or
I see what you mean, I've increased the size and have pretty much gotten rid of that problem now.

You should probably expect a lot of weird jokes; the concept itself is a weird joke.
You're right, not calling level 2 level 1 would be lunacy.

@stwert
The font I'm using doesn't have lowercase and I couldn't find a decent (freeware) one that did.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo-9.PNG
Views:	52
Size:	24.0 KB
ID:	46450  
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2011, 10:53 PM   #25
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,374
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Just a logistical question, which might be worth waiting for actual gameplay to ask, but whatever...
You've got "collisions with other data" will cause you to be "resent from RAM" and... "collisions will also slow you down"
Which is it?
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2011, 11:17 PM   #26
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stwert View Post
Just a logistical question, which might be worth waiting for actual gameplay to ask, but whatever...
You've got "collisions with other data" will cause you to be "resent from RAM" and... "collisions will also slow you down"
Which is it?
Ah, thanks for pointing that out, it's if you collide with too much data you'll have to be resent from RAM.
I better change that....

Also, the excitement of animated menus: YouTube - Server-side story menus
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 04:57 AM   #27
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

I assume you're doing that with CALayers and CAAnimations?
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 09:53 PM   #28
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chirone View Post
I assume you're doing that with CALayers and CAAnimations?
Nope; just translating UIimages.

Also, progress:
YouTube - Moving bytes

Since making that I've added a thing to randomly display different bytes. (also I can't use the accelerometer with the simulator so the spider doesn't move in the video).

You gradually speed up (as long as you don't hit anything, which is why you start to overtake the bytes moving in the same direction as you. I think I need something to give a sense of that speed. I though about something at the side but I don't know what to stick there, I don't just want it to be something random...
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 09:57 PM   #29
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,374
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

What about some circuitry? PCB?
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 11:07 PM   #30
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stwert View Post
What about some circuitry? PCB?
Good idea but it might be a bit tricky to tile without looking repetitive or being really big. Also, wouldn't make much sense having a PCB behind the full length of a memory bus.
Still, it's the best I've got at the moment.

Edit: Perhaps I should just try dashes between the bits, rather than solid lines...

Last edited by elephantinc : 09-04-2011 at 11:16 PM.
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.