Maya 2020 fundamentals - modelling the real world
Get halfway through a model and find it's an unworkable mess? Can't add edge loops where you need them? Can't subdivide a mesh properly? If any of this sounds familiar check this course out.
# 1 02-03-2012 , 08:36 PM
Edward256's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 27

Invalid argument: 0

Hi.
I like the way one can program in Maya, but it would be nice if it could tell me where the errors are.
Code:
string $nextline;
string $fileName = "......\\GOL.TXT";

if ( frame == 0 )
{
	//open file
	$fileID = `fopen $fileName "r"`;

	// Init black
	setAttr (ramp1.colorEntryList[0].colorR) 0;
	setKeyframe -outTangentType linear -t 0sec (ramp1.colorEntryList[0].colorR);
	setAttr (ramp1.colorEntryList[0].colorG) 0;
	setKeyframe -outTangentType linear -t 0sec (ramp1.colorEntryList[0].colorG);
	setAttr (ramp1.colorEntryList[0].colorB) 0;
	setKeyframe -outTangentType linear -t 0sec (ramp1.colorEntryList[0].colorB);

	setAttr (ramp1.colorEntryList[2].colorR) 0;
	setKeyframe -outTangentType linear -t 0sec (ramp1.colorEntryList[2].colorR);
	setAttr (ramp1.colorEntryList[2].colorG) 0;
	setKeyframe -outTangentType linear -t 0sec (ramp1.colorEntryList[2].colorG);
	setAttr (ramp1.colorEntryList[2].colorB) 0;
	setKeyframe -outTangentType linear -t 0sec (ramp1.colorEntryList[2].colorB);

	// first string
	$nextline = `fgetline $fileID`;

	while ( size( $nextline )>0 )
	{
		// Get the line
		string $time = `match "/\* [0-9]+ms \*/" $nextline`;
		print ( $time );

		$nextline = `fgetline $fileID`;
	}

	//close file
	fclose $fileID;
}
Code:
// Error: Invalid argument: 0 //
// Error: An execution error occured in the expression cameraColors. //
// Result: cameraColors //
Where does it go wrong?

/Edward

# 2 03-03-2012 , 03:41 AM
NextDesign's Avatar
Technical Director
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
Hi Edward.

In the script editor, under History, check "Line numbers in errors".


Imagination is more important than knowledge.
# 3 03-03-2012 , 12:35 PM
Edward256's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 27
Ah, thanks.
Code:
// Error: line 11: Invalid argument: 0 //
// Error: line 1: An execution error occured in the expression cameraColors. //
// Result: cameraColors //
So, if I count the lines correctly, it's complaining about
Code:
setAttr (ramp1.colorEntryList[0].colorR) 0;
What's wrong with this then? I was going according to the example in "Read animation values from a text file".

/Edward

# 4 03-03-2012 , 05:40 PM
NextDesign's Avatar
Technical Director
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
You need to put the object name in quotes. Eg: setAttr ("ramp1.colorEntryList[0].colorR") 0;


Imagination is more important than knowledge.
# 5 03-03-2012 , 07:15 PM
Edward256's Avatar
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 27
Ah, many thanks. Didn't realise that from the small example. Now just to filter out the elements from the text file.

/Edward

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads