SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Technical Issues / Objects Disappearing from viewport
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 29-04-2012, 06:57 PM   #1
eneuman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 78
Thanks: 9
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Default Objects Disappearing from viewport

I have a very similar problem with the one discussed in this thread:
http://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=36330

after a few minutes of working, the models just vanish from the viewport. i can still see them in wireframe, but not in shaded. i have no idea what could be causing it.
Attached Files
File Type: txt DxDiag.txt (31.6 KB, 37 views)
eneuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 03:19 AM   #2
eneuman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 78
Thanks: 9
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Default

anyone? i really need help with this
eneuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 04:52 AM   #3
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

Hi eneuman,

So you're saying that it looks fine, then when tumbling, the object just disappears? I'm not sure what the cause of this would be, besides a video card issue. Can you save the file as a .ma and attach it here? I'll take a look and see if it's either your file, or your computer. I assume you've nuked the preferences folder to no avail?
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 01:45 AM   #4
eneuman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 78
Thanks: 9
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Default

yea thats basically what is happeneing. it happens to all my files. and im sure it has to do with the video card/ graphics and not a mistake in the preferences.... im not sure any setting in the preferences would cause this... to be more specific, when this happens, all objects dissapear but they are still selectable. when i select an object it becomes selected in wireframe even though im in shaded mode...... any suggestions?
thanks
edward

Last edited by eneuman : 02-05-2012 at 02:15 AM.
eneuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 05:47 AM   #5
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

If you've nuked the preferences folder, as well as reinstalled Maya completely, it's your machine. As I said in your other post, your machine is at the bare minimum of running Maya, and it shouldn't really be surprising if weird stuff like this occurs, sorry.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 08:07 AM   #6
eneuman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 78
Thanks: 9
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Default

Cant i try updating/rolling back the drivers or something like that?
eneuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 02:44 PM   #7
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

We already tried that in your other thread. You can try different drivers, but in my opinion, I don't think you'll find one. Your machine may have been able to run 2009 just fine, but 2012 is a completely different product, so the argument "Maya 2009 worked" is kind of irrelevant. Sorry to be the bringer of bad news mate.
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 03:38 PM   #8
eneuman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 78
Thanks: 9
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Default

Hey no worries i greatly appreciate the honesty... So if i were to invest in my computer, what is it i would want to upgrade first? Video card? Processor? RAM?
Thanks
eneuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 03:49 PM   #9
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

Well, your processor isn't bad for starters. Your memory is on the low side, but it should be ok for starting out with Maya. Ideally you'd want at least 4 gb. The biggest thing I would upgrade would be your video card. The least expensive Quadro card, which is guaranteed to work with Maya 2012, is the Quadro 600, which runs for about $149. The least expensive FireGL card that's guaranteed to work is the FirePro V3800, which runs for about $99.

A lot of people will say that they have had no problems with gaming cards, but I've only ever had problems with them. Plus these two professional cards (the Quadro and the FireGL) are cheaper than most gaming cards. Just make sure that these cards can fit in your case before you buy them!
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 04:53 PM   #10
eneuman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 78
Thanks: 9
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Default

On second thought, i have several computers at my dad's business
That no one is using. Is there a way i can switch them? If so how can i know which is
Better?
Thanks!
eneuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 05:41 PM   #11
NextDesign
Technical Director
 
NextDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,988
Thanks: 33
Thanked 532 Times in 471 Posts
Default

Give me the specs and I can tell you which one is better, however I doubt they'll have a decent graphics card. Are you using a student version of Maya?
__________________
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
NextDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 02:16 AM   #12
eneuman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 78
Thanks: 9
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Default

yea im using a free license i got at my school (sorry for delayed reply)
eneuman is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem: How do I work with 2 objects at once? Skalman Technical Issues 2 23-04-2012 07:17 PM
Objects intersect after placement bullet1968 Dynamics & Special Effects 15 26-11-2011 02:20 AM
disappearing in viewport jarwulf Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 18-09-2011 10:50 PM
disappearing objects Hamilkar Technical Issues 8 13-09-2011 11:57 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 10:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.