Integrating 3D models with photography
Interested in integrating your 3D work with the real world? This might help
# 1 08-08-2013 , 05:04 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3

Simple way to get a human 3d model into maya

and easy to resize. I need to be able to change the pose as well. I'm using this for my comic book to see how the shadows fall. any help apriciated.

# 2 08-08-2013 , 07:39 PM
Subscriber
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 496
you are looking for a fully modeled and rigged character so the simple way to do it is import the mesh into maya, or model it from scratch. rig it. then pose it.

# 3 08-08-2013 , 08:15 PM
Gen's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,518
You should look into Daz Studio(which is free I think) if that's all you need it to do.

Even if you do find a quality model that is rigged, the bare fact that the question is posed says this might be a bit of a complicated approach for just seeing how shadows fall on the human form.


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
# 4 08-08-2013 , 09:32 PM
Subscriber
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 496
the quickest way would be to take a picture

# 5 08-08-2013 , 10:54 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3

You should look into Daz Studio(which is free I think) if that's all you need it to do.

Even if you do find a quality model that is rigged, the bare fact that the question is posed says this might be a bit of a complicated approach for just seeing how shadows fall on the human form.

Hi, i also want to use the program to build a little city and to see how the light will look in a room etc, right now though i have two characters standing in a corridor.

# 6 09-08-2013 , 12:17 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
I managed to find the human model, but now i have Another problem and was wondering if anyone could solve it:

user added image

I don't Think the light looks realistic in that image since there is an abrupt cutoff of light where the floor goes into the wall. How can i get it continuos?

# 7 09-08-2013 , 11:48 PM
Gen's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,518
To solve that issue, the short answer is to learn lighting in Maya or whip out your camera.

Long answer:

What is seen in that render is direct illumination only, no bounce light at all and this is normal default behavior. The Maya Software render engine doesn't have the features to simulate these natural occurrences(unless you meticulously place and configure a lot of lights) but mental ray does(Final Gather, Global Illumination, Ambient Occlusion etc).

Then there are other things to consider for realism, like physically accurate surface materials and camera exposure controls. At least these are available when using mental ray.

Learning how to realistically light in mental ray for Maya has it's frustrations, in some areas it's not very user friendly and if you have no experience with any of this then it can be quite the undertaking. There are other renderers for Maya out there, some arguably more user friendly but I can't think of a free one(3Delight?). Whipping out a camera and snapping some pictures is really sounding like the better suggestion here lol.


- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads