Introduction to Maya - Rendering in Arnold
This course will look at the fundamentals of rendering in Arnold. We'll go through the different light types available, cameras, shaders, Arnold's render settings and finally how to split an image into render passes (AOV's), before we then reassemble it i
# 1 02-10-2014 , 12:18 AM
Registered User
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 30

ambient occlusion in mi_car_paint_phen_x

mi_car_paint_phen_x doesn't have the ambient occlusion option like mia_material_x. How would you add ambient occlusion to mi_car_paint_phen_x? I tried different methods and nothing really works. Thanks.

# 2 04-10-2014 , 04:26 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 11
I dunno how to do it natively but I know rendering it in Maya Hardware Render 2.0 & turning on the SSAO/AO ambient occlusion

and then layering (in photoshop/adobe after effects if animation)

the hardware render 2.0 RENDER on TOP of the mental ray render and putting multiply blend on the hardware render 2.0 would make it look like has AO too

# 3 05-10-2014 , 07:41 PM
Registered User
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 30
Isn't that kinda like using the mib_amb_occlusion node on a lambert? Is there a way to maybe render -just- the ambient?

# 4 05-10-2014 , 08:13 PM
daverave's Avatar
The thin red line
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
You might be able to use the texture layer node.................dave




Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
# 5 05-10-2014 , 11:09 PM
Registered User
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 30
Let's say I add mi_car_paint_phen_x and mib_amb_occlusion to a layeredTexture. (did you mean layeredShader?) Then I need to connect the layeredTexture to a material, I can't just assign the layeredTexture to an object. Non-mentalray materials don't play well with mentalray materials so putting the layeredTexture in the color slot of a blinn probably wouldn't be a good idea. If I put the layeredTexture in the color slot of a mia_material_x then I might as well enable the ambient over there and not bother with layeredTexture and plug the mi_car_paint_phen_x in the additional color slot of mia_material_x. That's what I did and after spending time playing with the settings I got both the ambient and mi_car_paint_phen_x to show in the render. The ambient looks ok but I don't think mi_car_paint_phen_x shows too well. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Posting Rules Forum Rules
You may not post new threads | You may not post replies | You may not post attachments | You may not edit your posts | BB code is On | Smilies are On | [IMG] code is On | HTML code is Off

Similar Threads