SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-08-2007, 11:04 AM   #151
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

What version of Zbrush are you using?

You said that youve just got Z3 and the displacements are not as defined as Z2.

If your in Z2 get hold of the multidisplacement plug in and use that
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 11:44 AM   #152
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

@gster;
Yes i have zbrush3, but haven't got 2 anymore.
But the problem is that when i export the displacementmap from zbrush into photoshop i get some colorvariations in the backgroundcolor(i've attached an image and exagerated the effect, for display purpose), which are giving an additional bump.
I just want to know how to fix this, before i move on.
And thanks for thinking along with me
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dis5.jpg
Views:	156
Size:	245.5 KB
ID:	35755  
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 11:49 AM   #153
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

Ok guys i've added the displacementmap to the bumpmapchannel and expiremented with painting the colors(it isn't a picasso just yet, but i'm getting there), so let me know what you guys think.

Edit; still haven't fixed the additional bump map problem, so if anyone knows what's going on/wrong it would be much appreciated
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	before_and_after.jpg
Views:	158
Size:	70.1 KB
ID:	35756  
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 11:57 AM   #154
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

I would reinstall Z2, I uninstalled after the upgrade too, if I was you, sculpt the model in Z3 then export the high poly as a obj, import this into Z2 (with the multidisplacement mapper installed) then reconstruct the sub divisions till you get it to where you want, then use the multi displacment exproter with the maya code (google it and you'll get it) then just export straight out, no ps work needed to flip ie etc etc then just use it straight in maya.

Trust me its a lot better.

Also theres an upgrade for Z3 now
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 12:28 PM   #155
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

And you think the "second bump-problem" is sorted then aswell?(I did have the problem in zbrush2 also).
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 12:48 PM   #156
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Not too sure what you mean with the second bump? do you mean the bump in the background of the image you posted? If so I think so as ive never had a problem with the multi displacement plug in.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 02:23 PM   #157
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

I found it!!!!:attn:

According to the video on you tube i had to export the image into photoshop and change the image from greyscale to rgb and from 16 to 8 bit, and since it worked for him i never asked any questions:headbang: .
Now that i didn't do it it worked just fine, i'm not happy with the bump itself but now i can at least see it and adjust in zbrush.
Ah well, another lesson learned:blush:

I'm still doing as you suggested Gster, when i find zbrush2 on my back-up disc that is
:p
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	yodagelukt.jpg
Views:	145
Size:	17.7 KB
ID:	35762  
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 04:13 PM   #158
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

hey mastone - not sure how I let this get to 11 pages without commenting (sorry mate:blush, but I just had a good look through your thread and this looks very impressive. really good to see you take on so much and stick with it. Definitely looking forward to seeing more updates... though I never thought I'd see a naked yoda!
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2007, 04:31 PM   #159
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Youve got to remember that a lot of the vids for displacements for Zbrush are either for version 1 and/or 2 not for 3.

Its quite hard to get to grips with but well worth it, the "old" method was just to export displacements form Z (probably the way your doing) then adjust them in PS , then the displacement mapper came out which makes the process a lot easier.

Also youve got to remember that maya was different back then and maybe didnt support 16 bit tiff's (not too sure as it was before my time with 3d)

The process I use is model in Z3 then export to Z2 then reconstruct the sub divs, export the low poly object, re-uv in maya import as a morph target for the low level model, use the multidisplacement mapper at 2048, 32 bit tif, then convert to a .map (if I feel like it) then make up the shading network using the std route (approximation editor etc etc)
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2007, 01:21 PM   #160
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

Isn't there an easy way to change the .tif to a .map file.
The tutorial says something about batchfiles but i can't find them on zbrushcentral.....
Cause in the tutorial it says that i should go to the commandprompt and change it there, when i do that the only thing i'm getting are errors.
if i want to use the tif maya gives me pain(unrecognised fileformat yadayada....)



edit;
@arran;
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2007, 11:28 PM   #161
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

Ok guys i've found a great tutorial on the workflow between maya and zbrush==> http://www.edwin3design.com/root/news.htm

also i've some problems with the normal maps( see picture)
does anyone know why it does that?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	detailed copy.jpg
Views:	136
Size:	190.5 KB
ID:	35797  
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 03:09 PM   #162
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

After a couple of hours of tweaking and messing around, in which i don't remember what i've done anymore, i decided that i would let normalmapping go for the moment .
I did however made wonders with displacementmapping today:p .
I could use some pointers in the texturepainting i quess,(although i have to say i'm quite happy with it) since it's the first time i made a handpainted texture.

Let me know what you guys think.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	yoda_testrender_final_small.jpg
Views:	130
Size:	11.6 KB
ID:	35806  
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 03:50 PM   #163
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

yeah - it's looking really nice.
do you plan to add a specular map?
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 04:10 PM   #164
mastone
Maniacal boy king of Babylon
 
mastone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 1,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 59 Times in 58 Posts
Default

"do you plan to add a specular map?"
As soon as i figure out how to make one i will.

And thanks
mastone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 04:22 PM   #165
arran
Registered User
 
arran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

don't know too much about specular maps, but you need it to be in greyscale and whiter where you want his skin to be shiny, such as his cheeks and nose, and darker where you want it to be not shiny.
__________________
arran3D

arran3D blog
arran is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.