SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Competitions / Previous Challenges (Archives) / Chirone - Horror Challenge
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-10-2010, 08:08 AM   #16
s2-speedy
Registered User
 
s2-speedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ENGLAND UK
Posts: 286
Thanks: 3
Thanked 19 Times in 17 Posts
Default

I like the progression Chirone. the bones look great.

I think im going to have to get me a copy of z-brush soon, it looks like fun
s2-speedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 08:19 AM   #17
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

it is indeed most fun! it does take quite a bit to get used to though as a lot of the existing concepts from program don't exist. like going file > save... such things don't exist, it;s whole different paradigm (i think thats the word i'm looking for)

at some point some oif the bones looked like man-only parts, if you know what i mean. which was kinda annoying
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 08:02 AM   #18
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

a little bit of progress.
i did plan on finishing up today but didn't get round to that...

anyway, decided to redo the scythe/claw/blade thing because the topology of it wasn't working all that well.

if i were to use the reotopology tool i'd have to do both sides seperately since it was no longer in the center so i couldn't use symmetry.

this time i remembered to take a picture of the cool new shadow box for you guys

http://i948.photobucket.com/albums/a...peyeder005.jpg
except after doing this i used GoZ and flattened out some part of it so i could use the planer brush to make it properly flat on both sides. and then at some point zb crashed and i lost everything.
well.. not entirely true. i still had it in maya, but i closed that without saving and then i had lost everything

but here's the second attempt (forgot to snap shot a shadow box for this but the result is almost the same)
http://i948.photobucket.com/albums/a...peyeder006.jpg

and from a lower angle
http://i948.photobucket.com/albums/a...peyeder007.jpg

there is no longer a giant ball attached to this since i couldn't make a decent enough sphere and then i remembered that i should be able to merge subtools together so i'll grab a sphere and merge it with that

also, this is meant to be made of bone, so it shouldn't be entirely smooth

although, now that i think about it, i dont think bone would have such sharp corners as you see at the top... think i'll make the transition softer
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D

Last edited by Chirone : 03-10-2010 at 08:10 AM.
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 10:43 AM   #19
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

That looks good mate!! You might be suprised at how sharp bone can get......especially when its a predators weapon.

Dig this shadow box thing...might have to google some info..

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2010, 08:12 PM   #20
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

oh this is just lame...

i turn on my computer and nothing shows up...

i think the graphics card is dead? i'm still yet to find another ati card to put into the motherboard to see for sure, but my monitors work

something did show up when i plugged the card into the other pci-e slot but then it stopped working soon after.

man.. and i was so going to finish this too
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2010, 09:06 PM   #21
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Uh oh this doesnt sound good mate!!

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2010, 08:28 AM   #22
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

fortunately my laptop still works even after 4 years (i shoudl hope it lasts that long)

unfortunately i dont have zb4 on here nor do i have my projects on here

i suppose i could just take the harddrive out and swap it into one of my external harddrive cases and install zb4 from there and then learn to sculpt with 1.5GB of ram...

furtunately my laptop is running xp pro so it doesn't take all that much ram up...

i think it's my motherboard that might be screwed. i tried someone else's graphics card and nothing showed on screen still.
sadly his computer's power supply wont power my graphics card so i can't fully be sure if it's both my motherboard and graphics card or just the card.
the LED on the motherboard lights up when it gets power, so i'm not sure if it's broken..
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2010, 08:46 AM   #23
murambi
Head of 3d Admedia
 
murambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,329
Thanks: 21
Thanked 129 Times in 128 Posts
Default

as for the card why not switch also power supply unit with his and check
Is your motherboard expensive ??
murambi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2010, 08:54 AM   #24
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

switch the power supply.... wonder why i never thought of doing that
well... i'm going to go to another friend tomorrow and see if my card works in his computer. it wont make that much of a difference if i determine if it's the graphics card now or later since i can only go out to buy stuff in the weekends anyway

i don't think my motherboard was too expensive. I paid $220NZ for it, and that was almost exactly 2 years ago

also i dont think any of the current motherboards support quad core? it's all mentioning i3 i5 and i7 these days..
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2010, 09:09 AM   #25
murambi
Head of 3d Admedia
 
murambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,329
Thanks: 21
Thanked 129 Times in 128 Posts
Default

Quote:
also i dont think any of the current motherboards support quad core? it's all mentioning i3 i5 and i7 these days..
i sincerely doubt the lga 775 socket is dead......... cause with every release of a new processor lynfield and the rest they will always release an lga socket based processor
i guess ebay will be your friend im sure you can get a cheap 40usd board asrock g41 i think
murambi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2010, 12:46 AM   #26
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,125
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

ok, so my motherbopard was under warentee but i couldn't wait for long so idecided to get a new computer

now i got an i7 and still 8GB ram but now ddr3.

i don't think i have all that much time to do anything but we'll see if if i get anywhere
__________________


that's a "Ch" pronounced as a "K"

Computer skills I should have:
Objective C, C#, Java, MEL. Python, C++, XML, JavaScript, XSLT, HTML, SQL, CSS, FXScript, Clips, SOAR, ActionScript, OpenGL, DirectX
Maya, XSI, Photoshop, AfterEffects, Motion, Illustrator, Flash, Swift3D
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.