SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


SM Forums / Maya Questions / Animation / How to make step the default tangent?

Animation Animation & Rigging Related Topics

Join the conversation. Reply to post
 
Thread Tools
15-02-2008, 05:05 PM   #1
sjtaylor84
Subscriber
 
sjtaylor84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: England
Posts: 102
How to make step the default tangent?
Hi everyone,

When I'm animating I prefer at the beginning to just see my key poses as opposed to the spline interpolation between them. I can do this by highlighting everything in the graph editor and selecting step but I have to do this every time I create a new keyframe.

How do I make "step" the default tangent type as in the maya settings I can see every type of tangent but step. I'm using Maya 8.5 by the way.

Thanks in advance!
Simon
__________________
www.simontayloranimation.com
  Reply with quote
15-02-2008, 07:27 PM   #2
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Haven't tried it myself but I would presume it in the animation/keyframing preferences. Go to Window > Settings/Preferences > Preferences (or something along those lines, don't have Maya open in front of me).

Chris
  Reply with quote
15-02-2008, 08:49 PM   #3
sjtaylor84
Subscriber
 
sjtaylor84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: England
Posts: 102
thanks. I tried that but step tangent isn't there. All the others are though
__________________
www.simontayloranimation.com
  Reply with quote
06-03-2008, 10:02 AM   #4
gazzamataz
Subscriber
 
gazzamataz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Planet Apple MacTosh
Posts: 523
Simon

Go to your animation preferences and set your tangents to 'Clamped' for Default in tangent and 'Stepped' for Default out tangent. That should do it.

Well, it's what I use anyway :-)
__________________
Tickety boo and ta ta for a bit...
Gazzamataz
http://www.gazzamataz.com
  Reply with quote
12-04-2019, 01:06 AM   #5
scraigpetty
Lifetime Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
wow...old thread, but thanks! good info!
  Reply with quote
Reply

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oblivion mod looking for 3D Modellers Razorwing Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 14-10-2007 06:50 AM
How do you make Light Maps for the game environment? tvholicjames Lighting & Rendering 4 12-03-2007 04:30 PM
Make a tire? twisteddragon33 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 7 09-08-2004 08:40 PM
noob need help: how to make a flaming eye Sil-Valeor Dynamics & Special Effects 6 24-09-2003 01:47 AM