SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Technical Issues / Expression editor won't load
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 17-11-2013, 12:37 AM   #1
barretiano69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
Exclamation Expression editor won't load

Hello.
Whenever I try to open up the Expression Editor window Maya throws this error:
Error: file: C:/Program Files/Autodesk/Maya2014/scripts/others/expressionEditor.mel line 2220: Object 'EEmultiText' not found.

I already repair, reinstall and uninstall/install Maya and it still throws the same error.

Does anyone know what the problem may be?

Thanks.

Last edited by barretiano69 : 17-11-2013 at 12:39 AM.
barretiano69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2014, 09:06 PM   #2
jengy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
Default Cut your prefs folder, restart

For whatever reason (I would really like to know why) your prefs folder is probably the problem.

Go into your Documents\maya\pick your maya version folder
Cut your prefs folder, paste it somewhere else (this is to ensure you have a backup) and restart Maya.
Maya will re-create your prefs folder from default and you should be able to access the Expression Editor.

I am going to try to narrow down what file is causing the issue, and report back what I find.

Update: It was the userPrefs.mel file in prefs that was causing the issue for me; I wish I could tell which part of it was causing the bug, but alas, no luck. Anyone have an idea as to why this happens sometimes?

Last edited by jengy : 02-01-2014 at 09:23 PM.
jengy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 12:49 PM   #3
slypojo
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
Default

I was having the same issue and I was able to locate and solve the problem.

In userPrefs.mel there was a line of code towards the beginning of the file: -iv "EEexprEdTextEditor" 0
Simply change the 0 to a 1 and save the file. Reopen Maya and the problem should be solved!
slypojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2014, 09:45 PM   #4
LegatoBound
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Default That worked slypojo!

Your solution worked instantly slypojo! My expression editor is up and running again after changing that 0 to 1. Thank you very much for sharing the method you've discovered!
LegatoBound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2014, 10:46 PM   #5
Zygomatic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
Default

Thanks again! 'Bugs' like this can drive you crazy. Great to find an instant solution here.
Zygomatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 05:49 AM   #6
chalnikkal
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1
Default

Cut your prefs folder, paste it somewhere else (this is to ensure you have a backup) and restart Maya. Maya will re-create your prefs folder from default and you should be able to access the Expression Editor.?
chalnikkal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2015, 08:29 AM   #7
victorlystad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1
Default

Slypojo! Thank you very very much.
victorlystad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2015, 12:10 AM   #8
Sackmonius
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 2
Default Thank you!

Yes, this saved me, too! This is the second time Simplymaya forums had the only correct answer. Hence, registered.
Sackmonius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2015, 12:12 AM   #9
Sackmonius
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 2
Default

slypojo, thank you!
Sackmonius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2017, 11:03 AM   #10
litote
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 1
Default Thanks slypojo

Quote:
Originally Posted by slypojo View Post
I was having the same issue and I was able to locate and solve the problem.

In userPrefs.mel there was a line of code towards the beginning of the file: -iv "EEexprEdTextEditor" 0
Simply change the 0 to a 1 and save the file. Reopen Maya and the problem should be solved!
Thanks slypojo. Saved me restoring my prefs once again.
litote is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Repeat function in an expression tonyamiga Mel Scripts & Programming 1 19-02-2013 08:35 PM
random rotate expression tsefreeflow Mel Scripts & Programming 3 03-02-2013 07:43 PM
simple expression question lxhtin Dynamics & Special Effects 0 04-11-2012 08:52 PM
:help: Problem with varying refractive index using Expression Editor EonStrife Lighting & Rendering 4 15-12-2011 04:12 AM
Mental Ray won't automatically load mechanicarts Mental Ray 2 19-04-2011 12:21 PM