SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.


Go Back   Simply Maya User Community / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13-01-2018, 07:23 AM   #1
Zeero
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 2
Default Can ARNOLD render resolution free?

I am new to Maya and rendering with Arnold so I have a basic question.

In Maya when we press 3 for smooth preview that action raises poly count of the selected object while in smooth mode for whatever was set as a subdivision number. (2 by default). So when I import 5k poly mesh, press 3 to smooth preview, I see in HUD that it goes up to 80 thousand polys. Which if I was to do the same thing for a lot of them would put huge strain on the system (as expected).


Now when rendering with Arnold (AIstandardSurface shader), if I select my 5K mesh and I go to Attribute Editor - Shape - Arnold - Subdivision and I set CatClark as a Type and 5 for Iterations (subdiv levels)..... in this scenario Maya's HUD still reports 5K mesh but the thing is super smooth (as expected). So...is this mean that Arnold can subdivide mesh for the rendering purposes completely freely and separately from number actual polys in the scene ?

Like you can render million polys and have actual 1000 polys in a scene ?


Thank you
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	m.png
Views:	25
Size:	246.4 KB
ID:	57633  
Zeero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2018, 07:38 PM   #2
David
SM Site Programmer
 
David's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,062
Default

Yes basically Arnold will subdivide at render time so its independent. Be careful of going to high when you start to get to the 100s of millions off Poly's mark then ram is going to become a concern.
David is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issue: Arnold Batch Render with Alpha Channel Ratbite Lighting & Rendering 7 16-02-2017 12:52 PM
render only visible part of an object Arnold Maya 2017 lookdev Lighting & Rendering 1 13-01-2017 07:35 PM
arnold render elad23 Technical Issues 1 30-05-2016 04:34 PM
How do I render very large images in Maya? gundz Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 01-08-2011 09:09 PM
Batch Render Issue skippyk39 Mental Ray 4 09-07-2011 09:48 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.