SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Modeling / Modeling / Streaks on blade edge
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 29-01-2004, 09:11 PM   #1
Clod
Registered User
 
Clod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 201
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Streaks on blade edge

I seem to be getting streaks in a weapon model I'm making, during rendering. The streaks are on the blade which is very sharp. What can I do to fix this, is there a way of increasing the zbuffer resolution? Would this even fix it?

I'd like to keep the blade this sharp but I'm afraid I might have to blunt it to fix the streaking.
Clod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2004, 09:25 PM   #2
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

can we see this blade?
ckyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2004, 09:56 PM   #3
Clod
Registered User
 
Clod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 201
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Here's some examples looking down from above showing the problem:

http://homepage.eircom.net/~sharpsho.../BladeYPos.jpg

http://homepage.eircom.net/~sharpsho...adeStreaks.jpg


If I go under the blade and look up the other side isn't streaked.
If I rotate the blade around a bit, they disappear sometimes aswell. I'm haven't a clue what's wrong.


Here's the scene if you want to take a look:
http://homepage.eircom.net/~sharpsho...ges/Example.mb
Clod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2004, 10:13 PM   #4
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

It's safe to say i haven't got a clue why.
ckyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2004, 10:16 PM   #5
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Increase your dmap resolution in your shadow settings.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2004, 11:28 PM   #6
Clod
Registered User
 
Clod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 201
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Great, It works!
Thanks Mike, I never would have thought of that.
Clod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2004, 11:46 PM   #7
mclimer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

check the scale of the object. If the object is huge in comparison to the grid, that can cause this problem. If that's not it, have you messed with your camera attributes. Sometimes if you have the near plane clipping to low, or the far plane clipping to large, it can cause the streaks too.
mclimer is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.