SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Members Lounge / Maya on Red Hat Linux
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-02-2004, 08:14 PM   #1
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default Maya on Red Hat Linux

I'm thinking of switching my Windows PC over to Red Hat Linux. I've just been on the Alias site and it says they do Maya for Red Hat Linux. But i'm not sure what version to get. On the Alias site it says maya is compatible with Red Hat Linux 8 but the latest version is version 9. Will Maya work on version 9 and is anyone here using Linux?
ckyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 08:19 PM   #2
roach105
Subscriber
 
roach105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: T.O Baby!
Posts: 1,016
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I have used it on Red Hat nine and worked. The only issues I found are support for graphics is not at par in some cases as windows is and also the vector renderer is not available. Other than that I worked great. My main reason for not sticking with it was network setup issues I ran into but nothing to do with Maya.
roach105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 08:22 PM   #3
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

I'll go and get version 9 then. Network issues aren't a problem for me as i'm not networked.
ckyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 08:39 PM   #4
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

New question. Does anyone know a download manager that can resume downloads and handel files upto 650Mb? I'm using fresh download but the file is too big.
ckyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 09:13 PM   #5
fredriksson
Subscriber
 
fredriksson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 571
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

use any ftp client and get the (presumably ) ISO from a ftp instead
__________________
Björn 'santa' Fredriksson

<A href=http://www.bjornfredriksson.com>Site Online.</A>

Check out our 1on1on1 battle for the SandCrawlers.
fredriksson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 09:50 PM   #6
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

started downloading. it's going to take around 50 hours per disc on my 56k and there's 3 discs.
ckyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 09:56 PM   #7
fredriksson
Subscriber
 
fredriksson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 571
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

uh, get someone on broadband to mail you the CDs, that'd be faster
__________________
Björn 'santa' Fredriksson

<A href=http://www.bjornfredriksson.com>Site Online.</A>

Check out our 1on1on1 battle for the SandCrawlers.
fredriksson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 10:07 PM   #8
David
SM Site Programmer
 
David's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,039
Thanks: 50
Thanked 390 Times in 305 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ckyuk
started downloading. it's going to take around 50 hours per disc on my 56k and there's 3 discs.
Email me your address I'll mail you the Red Hat disks.

David.
__________________
Worst Response To A Crisis:
From a readers' Q and A column in TV GUIDE: "If we get involved in a nuclear war, would the electromagnetic pulses from exploding bombs damage my videotapes?"
David is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2004, 10:08 PM   #9
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

EDIT

Last edited by ckyuk : 02-02-2004 at 10:11 PM.
ckyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2004, 09:11 AM   #10
Darkon
SM Alumni
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

If you go to Red Hat 9 like I did you'll need to follow these instructions (copy and paste from somewhere else)-

You need to install all the compatability packages that redhat 9 comes with. Maya was compiled against older versions of the compiler, and redhat seems to think that everyone will just upgrade the moment redhat comes with something new


Either way, install the compatibility packages (they're somewhere in the dist), and then you need to edit the maya startup script as such : (copied from a post by Mark Miller btw. =))



change this block :
----------------------------------
case Linux:
set lib = lib set lsFlags = '-l'
breaksw
----------------------------------



to the following :
----------------------------------
case Linux:
set lib = lib set lsFlags = '-l'
setenv LD_ASSUME_KERNEL 2.4.1 (your kernel version.)
breaksw
----------------------------------

Good luck and enjoy

Darkon
__________________
Red bellows of flame have blackened my stones
Convulsing my frame and cracking my bones
Hell's dragons of steel who roar in their chains
Crawl into my caves to suck out my veins.....

-The Mountain P.F.M.
Darkon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2004, 09:25 AM   #11
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Here's a little something to keep in mind too. I received this mail from RedHat on Jan 14th:

Quote:
Dear Red Hat Linux 7.1, 7.2, 7.3 and 8.0 customers,

In accordance with our errata support policy, the Red Hat Linux 7.1, 7.2, 7.3 and 8.0 distributions have now reached their errata maintenance end-of-life.

This means that we will no longer be producing security, bugfix, or
enhancement updates for these products. Red Hat Linux 9 reaches end of life on April 30, 2004.

As our product family grows and expands, we want to help you
migrate to the Red Hat solution that is right for you. Whether that's one of our Red Hat Enterprise Linux products or the Fedora Project, our Red Hat Linux Migration Resource Center can help you find the Red Hat solution best suited for your needs:

http://www.redhat.com/solutions/migration/rhl/

The errata support policy, as well as our current errata and advisories, are available from:

http://www.redhat.com/apps/support/errata/

--the Red Hat Network Team
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2004, 09:33 AM   #12
Darkon
SM Alumni
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Very true! I'll be making a final Linux install disk right before 9 ends as well as backing up all the updates to that point. I'll give Fedora a look see but support is from the developers and not Red Hat.

Darkon
__________________
Red bellows of flame have blackened my stones
Convulsing my frame and cracking my bones
Hell's dragons of steel who roar in their chains
Crawl into my caves to suck out my veins.....

-The Mountain P.F.M.
Darkon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2004, 10:59 AM   #13
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

darkon btw, is there also a way to include the MR custom shader via a script.
maybe in the maya start up too.
it's a bit fustrating having to do it ecerytime i turn on my workstation.
p.s. don't forget about the fCheck thing.
thanx

btw, fedora project is much faster than RH, for home use or professional use. so i'm not too sad to see RH go
__________________
Image dump

Last edited by vladimirjp : 06-02-2004 at 11:04 AM.
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2004, 02:22 AM   #14
Darkon
SM Alumni
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Maybe I'll give Fedora a look see then, have you installed Maya on it?

Darkon
__________________
Red bellows of flame have blackened my stones
Convulsing my frame and cracking my bones
Hell's dragons of steel who roar in their chains
Crawl into my caves to suck out my veins.....

-The Mountain P.F.M.
Darkon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2004, 12:09 PM   #15
vladimirjp
Subscriber
 
vladimirjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: stuck in the 90's boston, USA
Posts: 1,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

personally i have not. but i know other who have, and maya flies on it.
better openGL intergration .
__________________
Image dump
vladimirjp is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 08:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.