SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Members Lounge / displacement baking
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 29-02-2004, 06:33 PM   #1
carrot juice
Registered User
 
carrot juice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 346
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default displacement baking

anyone know a plugin for maya that will bake the details of a hi-res model into a displacement map that can be applied to the low-res version at render time?

The normal mapping thread got me into this- I think this is kind of the equivolent of that for more high-end (non realtime) application

Thanks!

carrot juice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-02-2004, 07:31 PM   #2
NightPhantom
Registered User
 
NightPhantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have no idea how to do that, but just the other day I was wondering how to do the oposite, so I figured I would take this oportunity to ask. How do you take the displacement map and apply it to a mesh so that you won't need the displacement map anymore and the dismplacements show in the GUI?
__________________
There can not be Good without Evil, so then it must be good to be Evil sometimes.

:tup:
NightPhantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-02-2004, 07:53 PM   #3
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Check these sites out. Pretty interesting stuff.

http://www.drone.org/tutorials/displacement_maps.html
http://www.drone.org/tutorials/normal_maps.html

Night - With the displacement map applied, Modify > Convert > Displacement to mesh or something similar.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2004, 03:10 PM   #4
Clod
Registered User
 
Clod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 201
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Hey carrot juice, did you get normal mapping working? What tools did you use?
Clod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2004, 05:25 AM   #5
carrot juice
Registered User
 
carrot juice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 346
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Clod: nope, never tried. It just reminded me of this

Mike: Thanks very much!
carrot juice is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.