SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-04-2004, 01:36 AM   #1
clebo99
Registered User
 
clebo99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Rendering Curve Flow

I created a curve, applied a curve flow to it and try to render and I get the following message:

Warning: Hardware rendering selected for RiverFlow_particleSHape. Skipped.

How do I set this so my river is rendered in the scene?

Chris, Baltimore.
clebo99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2004, 05:24 PM   #2
carrot juice
Registered User
 
carrot juice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 346
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You need to render it using the hardware render buffer and composite it in with a program that will do that (like after effects or shake). If you look at the render type drop-down list in your ParticleShape attributes under Render Attributes you can see that "cloud", "tube" and "blobby" both have (s/w) written after them. This means that they will be software rendered. All other particle types must be rendered using the hardware render buffer.

Hope this helped
carrot juice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2004, 10:12 PM   #3
clebo99
Registered User
 
clebo99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

So, I would need a second program to render it with the motion? I've rendered "ocean" effects without needing a second program.

I'll give your tips a try. Maybe I'm just not understanding (probably)

Chris
clebo99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2004, 03:52 PM   #4
carrot juice
Registered User
 
carrot juice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 346
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

sorry. Guess I wasn't very clear.

you can render the particles within Maya's hardware render buffer (just search for that in the docs, they're clear once you know where to look) but when you render with that you get only the particles.

Here's a step-by-step type thing:

1) set up your scene

2) render everything but the particles with maya s/w or mental ray

3) render your particles using the hardware render buffer (make sure you render into a format that supports alpha, like TARGA

4) composite the particles onto the scene in a compositing program like shake or AE using the alpha layer


So you don't need another program to render the particles, but to composite them into the rest of your scene.
carrot juice is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.