SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Help importing a texture onto a blinn...
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 20-04-2004, 03:14 AM   #1
JedK
Registered User
 
JedK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Help importing a texture onto a blinn... (edit - another question added @ bottom)

Hey,

I know this is probably really easy to do, and I've been shown before; however, I cannot seem to recall how to go about doing it. I have my hypershade window open and create a new blinn... but where do I go from there?

Any help is appreciated.
-Thanks.

Last edited by JedK : 20-04-2004 at 09:54 PM.
JedK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2004, 05:50 AM   #2
mumbojumbo_13
Subscriber
 
mumbojumbo_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Land Down Under
Posts: 1,047
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

select the object you want to apply it to
then in the hypershade right click on the newly created blinn and go to apply material to selected objects
.. something on those lines
__________________
Thanks for wasting your time reading this line.
mumbojumbo_13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2004, 06:55 AM   #3
JedK
Registered User
 
JedK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

No, that will apply the blinn to my model. I need to know how to import a texture and create a blinn with it, so that I can 'then' apply it to my model. For example, I have a wood texture that I want to use in a blinn - how do I do it?

Make sense?
JedK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2004, 07:50 AM   #4
NightPhantom
Registered User
 
NightPhantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

On the left of the hypershade, click where it says "create material" and then chose "create texture". Or if it says "create all nodes" then just scroll down until you find "2D textures".

Now, click once on "file" (which is under 2D textures). This puts and empty file node in your work area. Now while that node is still selected go to the attribute editor and look for "Image Name", then click the folder icon next to that text box and that will open an open file dialog, look for the picture that you want to use as your texture and then click open. You should be able to see the picture in that file node instead of the black square.

Now, if you don't have the blinn node in your work area drag it there so that you'll have both the file node and the blinn node in the work area. Now, with the attribute editor open, select the blinn material and then hold the middle mouse button over the file node and drag it to the color attribute of the blinn material. Your blinn should now be showing the texture instead of a gray sphere.
Apply the material to your textures and you are all set.

Of course this is only one way to do it. But I won't explain other ways because it's late and I'm sure u'll be ablo to figure them out on your one after some meddeling in Maya.
__________________
There can not be Good without Evil, so then it must be good to be Evil sometimes.

:tup:
NightPhantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2004, 07:59 AM   #5
JedK
Registered User
 
JedK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NightPhantom
Now, click once on "file" (which is under 2D textures).
Hmm, I do not see anything that says "file." Under 2D textures, all I see are three radio buttons that say the following: normal, as projection, as stencil. Below these radio buttons it just has a bunch of default textures, and that is it.

What am I missing here? I haven't really messed with anything, so I don't think it has anything to do with an option that I accidentally turned off.

Kinda frustrating here... but really appreciate the help.
-Sorry for the inconvenience. ~_~
JedK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2004, 08:02 AM   #6
JedK
Registered User
 
JedK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hmm, scratch that... I was able to find it by right clicking and going to "create -> 2D texture -> file..." as opposed to finding it on the left column.

Thanks a lot for your help.
JedK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2004, 08:08 AM   #7
NightPhantom
Registered User
 
NightPhantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

See the picture.
Also, I forgot to mention that you should leave the radio buttons in the default, Normal.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	hypershadecreatefilenode.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	50.7 KB
ID:	14632  
__________________
There can not be Good without Evil, so then it must be good to be Evil sometimes.

:tup:
NightPhantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2004, 08:22 AM   #8
JedK
Registered User
 
JedK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I can't believe I totally skipped over #2. I guess I was expecting something different for File... and not another picture that looked like a texture - that's what I get for skimming over it too quickly.

Thanks again for going out of your way to help me.
JedK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2004, 09:53 PM   #9
JedK
Registered User
 
JedK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hmm, sorry to bring the topic back up, but I have another question regarding this issue.

After I apply my wooden texture to my model, am I supposed to only be able to see it when I render the model? Because as of now, that's how it is - when just looking at it before rendering, it's still silver/gray.

Any input?
-Thanks much.
JedK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2004, 02:33 AM   #10
NightPhantom
Registered User
 
NightPhantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 269
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hit "6" in your keyboard while the mouse cursor is over the 3D view where you want to see it with textures.
__________________
There can not be Good without Evil, so then it must be good to be Evil sometimes.

:tup:
NightPhantom is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Importing Renders to AE Ozgalis Dynamics & Special Effects 1 08-12-2010 08:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.