SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 21-04-2004, 06:14 PM   #1
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,305
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default Rage.... need help with Depth of field

Hey bro.... can you explain the best why to use this option? I haven't had too before and im not geting the results I want.

I want my frog to be nice and clear and the back ground to be blured... I can get a render where he's about 80 percent clear but not as nice as I want... Any suggestions... I can e-mail you the file if you need to look at it more..


Thanks dude...
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2004, 07:20 PM   #2
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

No need bud

2 ways, both done in post rather than in Maya.
(best to always to dof blur in post cause you have way more control)

WAY 1: (cheap and easy)
Make a tighter, less "gradual" radial gradient around your frog in your compositing app, then track it to your frog and use it as a dof blur channel.


Way 2: (what I do most often)
Grab the YUYA DEPTH SHADER from the shader section off another "highend" 3d website, hehe, then when you've completed rendering your Maya scene, save it as a depth.mb file, then select everything and apply that shader to all.
It will "simulate z-depth" distance from camera at render-time for you without having to mess with the cam settings.

Hope that helps ya a bit
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2004, 07:31 PM   #3
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,305
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Thanks bro will try it soon.
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2004, 03:26 AM   #4
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

No prob Hope they might help you
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2004, 08:54 PM   #5
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,305
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Rage another question for you mate.... I have made some rain using dynamics> blobby surface so maya can render it with out using hardware rendering...

My question is how can i make the blobs have motion blur?(cant figure this step out.. the images are clean a nice)

I think it would look much better if maya makes the motion blur on the dynamic than me using the static render and trying to add the blur in PS.

Any suggetions?

Thanks Bro..
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2004, 11:08 PM   #6
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Why not do it with hardware particles? It's not that hard. Motion blur is pretty easy to achieve as well... Render with alpha and z-depth turned on and it's pretty easy to composite on whatever you like in photoshop or in a composition app.
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2004, 11:24 PM   #7
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,305
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

ya trying that right now......
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2004, 12:00 AM   #8
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Did some testing too

http://kbrown.wolfenstein.org/index....CG%20Rain&im=0

Btw, that's my new website (wip)...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2004, 11:29 AM   #9
BulletProof
Subscriber
 
BulletProof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Austria
Posts: 290
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Another way of having good control over a rendererd DOF-Effect is using the connection manager, Camera and Aim and the Distance Measure Tool.

I've created a small tutorial for you..no sound, just movie. Techsmith-Codec required...

Techsmith Codec

Depth of Field Tutorial

You can now adjust the effect, by simpy using the F-Stop slider, to adjust how big the sharp area should be. (hopefully it works )

Hope it's made clearly...and if you have any further questions...I'm here ! ;o)
BulletProof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2004, 12:47 PM   #10
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

The thing is, Maya's DOF isn't photo-accurate in how it blurs things. You'd have more control doing it in post.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2004, 01:08 PM   #11
BulletProof
Subscriber
 
BulletProof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Austria
Posts: 290
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

No doubt, that you have more control in post....and it's also my prefered method for creating this effect...now with Photoshop CS, and I've bought some Plugins for this effect -> Frischluft Lenscare

my method just shows, how this can be achieved within MAYA with good control, you just have to use the aim on your goal, and finished...the goal is sharp, everthing is blurred in dependance to it's distance to the camera...was just to show. I know it's not the best way but the best way in MAYA in my opinion
BulletProof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2004, 02:27 PM   #12
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,305
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Thanks guys you all rock... i'll try it out soon once...I get the metal parts all done...
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.